Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used lowfat buttermilk instead of the milk, reduced-fat hot dogs (Hebrew National, they seem less 'mystery meat') and used slightly less celery and sage per others' comments. Baked in a wide, shallow dish so and took out a few minutes early. It came out perfect! Not mushy. Kids loved it. I may try some dry mustard next time as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this for dinner a few nights ago and everyone loved it! They weren't sure about it beforehand, they said it was interesting. But one taste and they fell in love with it! I will have to do this again! I did leave the green onions/sage because I didn't have any on hand. I also used Monterey Jack Cheese instead of Cheddar! I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I make this exactly as written and my whole family loves it. It is difficult to find a recipe that both my high school boys and my 7 year old like, but this one makes all 3 happy. It even tastes good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very disappointing!!! Too dry. The sage was overpowering. We could not taste that there was any cheese. Adding some mustard is the only that made this somewhat acceptable to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Really good! Its always a hit when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was quite yummy!!! I didn't use the celery or sage, but ended up increasing the recipe by half (family of six) and made one casserole with only hotdogs, cornbread mix and cheese, and in the other I sauteed onions with jalepenoes, then added that. Forgot to reserve some, so just mixed it all up. Kids all asked for seconds, and have asked me to make again. Loved it, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Was surprised at how tasty this was! It brought back memories of when I was a kid! I didnt think I would like the celery but it added a good flavor. I did omit the sage (didn't have any on hand). My husband loved this as did my parents (they stopped unexpected). It was very filling but would taste great with baked beans on the side! Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Fay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
All these reviews about how something needed to be changed or it was terrible are lying! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out to be perfect. My only problem was that I cut the recipe in half. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
tasted ok but it is easier to just throw some corndogs on a pan and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious!! My husband & I loved this (we are corn dog fans) The changes I made were 1) I took another reviewers recommendation & used a can of cream corn and cut the milk in half 2) did not add cheese and 3) used 1 lb. of turkey hot dogs, because I don't eat pork/beef. The calorie calculator at 8 servings is about 450 cal/serving using these changes, so that decreases the calories significantly. Also, the can of cream corn adds 300 calories to the whole dish, so if you use the original 1 1/2 cups of skim milk, it'll decrease the recipe by 240 calories. I will try it without the cream corn next time to see if it's worth the calories :) Thanks so much for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States