Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My whole family LOVED this! My 6yr old and 4yr old had two bowls! I used chicken broth instead of water, and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also tossed in a handful of shredded cheddar right before serving. It was a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Corn chowder is one of my favorite soups. It was easy to make. I did add a can of whole corn (I put the corn in the food processor and chopped it up before adding it to the soup). Overall I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe is very good. I am vegan and changed the milk to soy milk and the butter to soy butter and it was still great! Instead of two cups water I used two cups vegetable broth and 1/2 cup water and added celery! It was so good and my husband said it was the best he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This turned out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
So easy, fast and delicious. I threw in some frozen taco meat that I had on hand and it gave it a kick. We ate it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Fabulous! I am from New Hampshire and crave corn chowder when the weather turns cold. This recipes tasted exactly like I remember my mom's chowder. I used "no salt added" cream corn and added a can of whole kernal corn (also no salt added). I seasoned according to the recipe and it was perfect. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was excellent. I follwed another readers advice and used 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can of whole kernal corn (with liquid)along with chicken broth in place of water, and also a little cornstarch. Everyone thought it was delicious....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States