Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My whole family LOVED this! My 6yr old and 4yr old had two bowls! I used chicken broth instead of water, and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also tossed in a handful of shredded cheddar right before serving. It was a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calliecat
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This recipe is very similar to my recipe that I misplaced. I think the only difference was I didn't use as much water. I had to improvise once I added the water. I used little less milk and added 1/2 cup of half & half. It also needed a bit of thickness, so I used corn starch and I added about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese. My husband bragged about it and said wow this is good. He even took a second helping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this EXACTLY as written and then tried it (because I hate when people rate a recipe after they've changed it all up). I have to agree with those who said it was "bland" or tasted like creamed corn. So THEN I changed it. I added about 6 slices of crumbled bacon, a can of whole corn (drained), about a 1/2 cup of cubed processed cheese, and 2 T. of cornstarch mixed with a little water. Woolah! Even my picky teenaged son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe was really great. I did add minor changes to it. Used chicken broth instead of water, added 1 (14.75 ounce) of frozen sweet corn, and 1 (14.75 ounce) can of cream-style corn, and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. Also like a little kick in my food so finished it off with some hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I too loved this recipe. I followed some of the previous recommendations. I used chicken broth instead of water and heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I also used whole kernal sweet corn instead of creamed corn. It turned out excellent. I also put in crumbled bacon at the end. The chowder was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe was a hit! When I first tried this recepie, I was looking for something that was healthy and was an easy budget help. This hit the mark big time! The only changes I made were to use chicken stock (I have found this change adds a lot of flavor to an otherwise lacking soup/stew/chowder), the second time around I used all half-and-half instead of the milk, and I used frozen corn (my husband hates cream corn...) for both occations. All around, VERY delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was good! I would definitely advise not using so much water. I like my corn chowder thicker and chunkier so that just watered it down, but we liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States