Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
just like my grandmothers!! I am so happy I tried this because my grandmother is no longer here, and it brought back some really treasured memories! I used chicken broth in place of the water and added some crumbled bacon...perfect!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent chowder! 4 stars because as written there is far too much liquid. But having read reviews, I cut the water down to 1 1/2 cups and used a veggie stock cube for extra flavor. Only needed a splash of milk instead of 2 cups and there was plenty of liquid. Great flavor, wonderful with crusty bread for a quick dinner! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I give this chowder 5 stars as is, without adding or deleting anything. That said, I did make a few additions. I added chicken cubes to the water instead of using salt. When I added the potatoes, I threw in some left over cooked rice, so this thickened up my soup nicely. I also added about 3 handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese at the end with the milk. I made Italian Bread Bowls from this site. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe was a hit! When I first tried this recepie, I was looking for something that was healthy and was an easy budget help. This hit the mark big time! The only changes I made were to use chicken stock (I have found this change adds a lot of flavor to an otherwise lacking soup/stew/chowder), the second time around I used all half-and-half instead of the milk, and I used frozen corn (my husband hates cream corn...) for both occations. All around, VERY delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup really just tasted like creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
i cooked this in a regular large pot on the stove, the only thing i did different was use buillon chicken flavored broth instead of water & guessed the salt & pepper, i also added some red pepper for flavor-this was wonderful-i have made it several times now & everyone that tries it has had seconds..A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was excellent. I follwed another readers advice and used 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can of whole kernal corn (with liquid)along with chicken broth in place of water, and also a little cornstarch. Everyone thought it was delicious....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States