Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I misplaced my mothers recipe for what we called Cream of Potato soup. Our version is made with one can of half n half, and you boil the potatoes (6 of them, or 2 1/2 cups) and when soften, you then MASHED them in the water and then added the ingredients. Instead of half a stick of butter it was 3 tablespoons, salt and pepper to taste. Serve with oyster crackers and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this EXACTLY as written and then tried it (because I hate when people rate a recipe after they've changed it all up). I have to agree with those who said it was "bland" or tasted like creamed corn. So THEN I changed it. I added about 6 slices of crumbled bacon, a can of whole corn (drained), about a 1/2 cup of cubed processed cheese, and 2 T. of cornstarch mixed with a little water. Woolah! Even my picky teenaged son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I replaced the water with chicken broth and used half milk and half half and half. It turned out really great. Its one of those recipes that uses common things that are always in the kitchen so its easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wonderful and easy recipe - I made just a few modifications and I now have the perfect corn chowder recipe. I added chardonnay to the butter/onion step which gives the soup a very gourmet and complex taste. I also used canned kernel corn vs. the creamed and then added half and half vs. the milk - I added a bit of corn starch at the end so the soup wasn't a watery consistency. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tasty. Excellent during winter months for warming a cold body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mycowboy48
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I tried this and thought it was really good, but it wasn't thick enough. I tried adding corn starch but it didn't thicken up enough to my liking but it was still very tasty. I would definitely make it again but will add cream instead of all milk. My son liked it (and he's very picky) but he said it needed bacon, or some kind of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I did make a few changes. I cooked a full pkg of bacon and then removed the bacon. I sauteed the onion in the bacon fat. I also used chicken stock instead of water and I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. I put the bacon in a food processor and ground it till it was like bacon bits and then I added it back into the chowder :) It worked out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Yummers! I replaced 1/2 the butter with oil olive and used fat free milk to ever so slightly improve the fat profile and it remained a creamy, comfort food delight! Also used fresh corn boiled for 3 mins then cut off the cob before being put in the soup (after the potatoes were tender) and that was awesome, though, I suppose, only seasonally possible.) Thanks for your recipe, Kristy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and pureed about 3 cups of the potatoes after they cooked, then I added a bag of frozen corn. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it kick. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States