Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is great although I prefer a thicker soup and used corn starch to thicken, also substituted skim milk and 1 can whole kernel corn and 1 garlic clove crushed. Everyone in my house loved it and want it served regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Just made this chowder today - FABULOUS!! Followed the recipe exactly except for a few modifications: added 3 whole cloves of garlic along with the sauteed chopped onions, used same amt of evaporated skim milk in place of regular milk (as that's what I had on hand), had fresh corn on the cob from a family BBQ the day before and at the end, used an immersion blender in the soup pot to mix all the ingredients together. The soup came out thick and creamy due to the potatoes being mashed together. In the past have used this same concept but also poured some of the soup into a blender in batches and returned the soup back to the pot to get it nice and creamy. Either way works!! Try this very simple yet extremely delicious chowder - it is definitely going into my recipe collection and to be made quite often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedSadge

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I think this is a really great base recipe. It's almost fool proof. I used about half of the milk and water. I also used canned potatoes to shorten the prep and cooking times. Lastly, I added about half a cup of chopped salami sauteed in bacon grease. Not healthy, I know, but tasty! I'm really grateful for this recipe. I know I'll be making it more often. Thanks Kristy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great Recipe! I tweaked it a little, from other peoples comments. Reduced the water, used a can of evaporated milk instead, and did a can of whole kernels and a can of cream style corn. Will deff be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great soup. I used heavy cream (I had some I need to use up) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is delicious and so easy to make! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I too loved this recipe. I followed some of the previous recommendations. I used chicken broth instead of water and heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I also used whole kernal sweet corn instead of creamed corn. It turned out excellent. I also put in crumbled bacon at the end. The chowder was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I really liked the flavor of it, but it was very thin. I added some pureed potatoes and some cornstartch as well....I will try to make it again, but will adjust the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So yummy! I also used chicken broth instead of water and less milk with 1/4 cup 1/2 and 1/2. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States