Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My whole family LOVED this! My 6yr old and 4yr old had two bowls! I used chicken broth instead of water, and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also tossed in a handful of shredded cheddar right before serving. It was a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Corn chowder is one of my favorite soups. It was easy to make. I did add a can of whole corn (I put the corn in the food processor and chopped it up before adding it to the soup). Overall I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe is very good. I am vegan and changed the milk to soy milk and the butter to soy butter and it was still great! Instead of two cups water I used two cups vegetable broth and 1/2 cup water and added celery! It was so good and my husband said it was the best he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This turned out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
So easy, fast and delicious. I threw in some frozen taco meat that I had on hand and it gave it a kick. We ate it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Fabulous! I am from New Hampshire and crave corn chowder when the weather turns cold. This recipes tasted exactly like I remember my mom's chowder. I used "no salt added" cream corn and added a can of whole kernal corn (also no salt added). I seasoned according to the recipe and it was perfect. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was excellent. I follwed another readers advice and used 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can of whole kernal corn (with liquid)along with chicken broth in place of water, and also a little cornstarch. Everyone thought it was delicious....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States