Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My whole family LOVED this! My 6yr old and 4yr old had two bowls! I used chicken broth instead of water, and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also tossed in a handful of shredded cheddar right before serving. It was a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calliecat
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This recipe is very similar to my recipe that I misplaced. I think the only difference was I didn't use as much water. I had to improvise once I added the water. I used little less milk and added 1/2 cup of half & half. It also needed a bit of thickness, so I used corn starch and I added about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese. My husband bragged about it and said wow this is good. He even took a second helping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this EXACTLY as written and then tried it (because I hate when people rate a recipe after they've changed it all up). I have to agree with those who said it was "bland" or tasted like creamed corn. So THEN I changed it. I added about 6 slices of crumbled bacon, a can of whole corn (drained), about a 1/2 cup of cubed processed cheese, and 2 T. of cornstarch mixed with a little water. Woolah! Even my picky teenaged son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe was really great. I did add minor changes to it. Used chicken broth instead of water, added 1 (14.75 ounce) of frozen sweet corn, and 1 (14.75 ounce) can of cream-style corn, and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. Also like a little kick in my food so finished it off with some hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I too loved this recipe. I followed some of the previous recommendations. I used chicken broth instead of water and heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I also used whole kernal sweet corn instead of creamed corn. It turned out excellent. I also put in crumbled bacon at the end. The chowder was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe was a hit! When I first tried this recepie, I was looking for something that was healthy and was an easy budget help. This hit the mark big time! The only changes I made were to use chicken stock (I have found this change adds a lot of flavor to an otherwise lacking soup/stew/chowder), the second time around I used all half-and-half instead of the milk, and I used frozen corn (my husband hates cream corn...) for both occations. All around, VERY delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was good! I would definitely advise not using so much water. I like my corn chowder thicker and chunkier so that just watered it down, but we liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States