Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
just like my grandmothers!! I am so happy I tried this because my grandmother is no longer here, and it brought back some really treasured memories! I used chicken broth in place of the water and added some crumbled bacon...perfect!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent chowder! 4 stars because as written there is far too much liquid. But having read reviews, I cut the water down to 1 1/2 cups and used a veggie stock cube for extra flavor. Only needed a splash of milk instead of 2 cups and there was plenty of liquid. Great flavor, wonderful with crusty bread for a quick dinner! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I give this chowder 5 stars as is, without adding or deleting anything. That said, I did make a few additions. I added chicken cubes to the water instead of using salt. When I added the potatoes, I threw in some left over cooked rice, so this thickened up my soup nicely. I also added about 3 handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese at the end with the milk. I made Italian Bread Bowls from this site. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe was a hit! When I first tried this recepie, I was looking for something that was healthy and was an easy budget help. This hit the mark big time! The only changes I made were to use chicken stock (I have found this change adds a lot of flavor to an otherwise lacking soup/stew/chowder), the second time around I used all half-and-half instead of the milk, and I used frozen corn (my husband hates cream corn...) for both occations. All around, VERY delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup really just tasted like creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
i cooked this in a regular large pot on the stove, the only thing i did different was use buillon chicken flavored broth instead of water & guessed the salt & pepper, i also added some red pepper for flavor-this was wonderful-i have made it several times now & everyone that tries it has had seconds..A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummm.This is so good and flavorful. I also used chicken broth and water to boil potatoes. Also added red pepper w/ onions. A must try!! A no fail recipe, thanks Kristy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used heavy cream in place of some of the milk. I pureed about 4 cups in the blender to make it creamier. I added some whole sweet corn to give the chowder more texture. Before serving I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and some bacon. Very good. I made about 12 servings so I could have leftovers. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was excellent. I follwed another readers advice and used 1 can of creamed corn and 1 can of whole kernal corn (with liquid)along with chicken broth in place of water, and also a little cornstarch. Everyone thought it was delicious....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Two weeks after serving this, my guests are still asking for the recipe. I substituted chicken stock for the water, but used less. I substituted non-dairy creamer (that I read in another chowder recipe) because my family is lactose intolerant. I spiced it up with a little with chipolte seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States