Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe! I followed the review tips on using chicken broth rather than water, so that's why I'm only giving it a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I had never made corn chowder before but it seemed a lot like Potatos soup/stew so I thought I'd try it. It turned out beautifully. I used our own corn that we froze (off the cob) in the fall and made the cream corn. This added a ton of flavor. Cream corn is easy to make, it just takes extra time. Didnt really make any other changes. I doubled the recipe. It was a huge hit at the potluck, many asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
The recipe how it's given is great, it's definately a good corn chowder recipe. I'm sure many add cream instead of milk, which may make it heartier, but as is, it's still good! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyandvi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Great recipe! Additions can be added and it just gets tastier. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My husband made this today instead of the normal one we usually make. With no bacon my nose said they could not be good. Both my picky daughter and myself loved this and with the fat cut who could not be happy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent!! I did alter the recipe slightly. I used just one quarter cup of butter and rather than water I used chicken broth. Most definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a great start, but I did doctor it up. I used 1 can cream-style corn+a small bag of frozen corn. I've used vegetable broth instead of the water before but didn't have any tonight, so I used the water and a 1/2 packet of KNOR vegetable soup mix (if you use the soup mix, you don't need to add salt). And instead of all milk, I use 1/2 milk and 1/2 half & half, and just a little bit of whipping cream. And definitely add a little cornstarch to thicken it up. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
would use less black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Can never leave well enough alone. I use 1 can creamed corn and 1 can whole kernal corn. Also use instant potato flakes to make a thicker chowder. To make larger servings or have more eaters to enjoy this chowder add more corn & more potato. Makes a great first course or main course dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Loved how easy it was, but it didn't have that wow factor. My husband thought it needed to be a bit thicker. I also think maybe adding ham would make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States