Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I served this to the family, and it was a big hit! Like some of the others suggested I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken it up. What great flavor! I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe!! I didn't have marjoram so i just added some paprika and a pinch of old bay. Just before serving I added a scoop of sour cream and a small hand full of sharp cheddar cheese. It was awesome! my 6 year old even loved it and he is very very picky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cans of cream corn; omitted the can of regular corn, put kernels from two ears of corn in with the potatoes and added a chopped red pepper too and boiled them untill they were tender. Used chicken buillion and a heaping teaspoon of Italian Seasoning to the three cups of water.Used 2 pounds of Italian Mild Sausage. And followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Ooh, mama! That hit the spot and went down smooth! Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was just ok for me. I followed the recipe exact, except I used spicy chicken sausage instead of pork sausage. The recipe still seemed like it was missing something though. However, I shared leftovers with my parents, and they really enjoyed it. I think I just missed my traditional family recipe that uses bacon. Pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Sorry, not my favorite chowder. I guess I should have added some of the suggested ingredients. I'm sticking to my ham and corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I am giving this five stars because my husband, our college age son and three of his college age friends, ALL gave this two thumbs up! I served it with biscuits and they didn't even want dessert until about two hours later. This dish will put a smile on a man's face for sure! A few small changes: I didn't have an onion so I added a package of Lipton onion soup mix with 1/2 cup of water to the sausage after it was browned. I used turkey sausage, two cans of whole kernel corn, and added 1 cup of chicken broth and two cups of shredded cheese at the end. It turned out great! Will certainly make again soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was way better than I thought it would be. Even better when I topped the bowl with a little cheese. I did ad some corn starch to thinken it up a bit. but other then that, the recipe was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I cooked the sausage and then put all the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook for a few hours. It was good, but to me it was a little bland. I ended up adding 2 cups of cheese, which really helped. I think next time I make this I will substitute ham for the sausage and add carrots and peas or green beans. It was good and hearty and great for dipping soft bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is a pretty good chowder. Ive never made anything in terms of chowder but this is pretty good. I didnt peel the potatoes though and I used turkey sausage instead of the pork variety. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Skywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States