Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellant!! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really couldn't help but thinking that the sausage stuck out too much flavor-wise in this recipe. Having said that, it was good. I let it simmer for 2 hours to thicken it up, but felt it was missing something. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream and about a cup of shredded cheddar, which made it nice and creamy. I also added celery and carrots. Good recipe, I will make again but probably will try replacing the sausage with ground chicken or turkey. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I used this as a great recipe to throw in some leftovers - used just a little sausage, added pureed yellow squash and acorn squash. Used just a splash of cream and a little cream cheese instead of evaporated milk. Awesome meal for cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Quick, easy and so comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was excellent! The only thing is,,I ended up draining the potatoes, therefore not having any "broth"! Stupid me. So I added chicken broth and had to boil it again..Think next time I'll boil in the broth. Very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is an excellent recipe and it makes a ton and freezes very well. We used deer sausage in our chowder and like others, used chicken broth to up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house. I a 1# roll of spicy breakfast sausage, then serve with grated cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
As written, I give this recipe 4 stars. But I took a few suggestions of previous reviewers, and with those suggestions it's definitely worth 5 stars: 1. I added a cup of diced carrots in with the potatoes. 2. I used chicken stock instead of water. 3. I used turkey smoked sausage instead of the ground pork sausage. 4. I used 2 cans of whole kernel corn instead of 1 can. 5. I added some freshly ground black pepper towards the end, around 1/2 a tsp. I took this to a potluck and at least 5 people asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper with these changes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great recipe! My roommate made this last night and it was a big hit. A couple minor changes: she used canned potatoes (too lazy to peel and wait to soften), oregano instead of marjoram, and she flavored it a little more with butter and herb potato flakes. Definitely does not need more salt, though, since the pork is salty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States