Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was really good. My kids all gave it a "thumbs up." I followed the recipe as listed except I used smoked sausage and 2 cans of creamed corn because that was what I had on hand. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
WOW! SO good. The only actual changes I made were using 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the evap. milk and chicken broth instead of water. Some recommendations: use italian sausage, a mix of red and yukon gold potatoes (they're what I had on hand and turned out great!), add a couple splashes of Tobasco, and use red onion =). I also added some spices based on personal preference. This is AWESOME and easy to tweak to perfection. (Note: I let this simmer for about an hour and the consistency was perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
It really is quite good. I followed the recipe as written (except for substituting moose sausage for pork) and ended up adding a little extra salt in the end. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I found this recipe looking for something a little different but using pork. THIS RECIPE ROCKS!!! The best part is that it takes basically no time and you use 2 pans!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I was not fond of this recipe. I don't think it has anything to do with the recipe itself, in my house we found that the flavor was very bland and it took longer than expected. Plus, we also gathered, that while we love corn, we don't like it mixed in with our food. It needs to be on it's own supporting side dish roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
as reviewers suggested i added some carrots and celery, used 2 cans creamed corn only, and added 2 cubes chicken bouillion. i even used spicy sausage but i still ended up having to add some cayenne and garlic powder at the end. i didnt have any evaporated milk but i substituted 2/3 c dry milk and 3/4 c water and it worked perfectly. i would make this again with but i would use fresh garlic next time. this is a great recipe that you can change according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just made this chowder this morning. The only things I added were carrot which I see in the picture you added too. Also I always add coarse black pepper to my soups, and I also added a teaspoon of curry powder and 2 teaspoons of cornstarch. This is my 2nd time making this recipe, the first time I added the curry powder by accident. It was such a happy accident that I'm using it again this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellant!! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really couldn't help but thinking that the sausage stuck out too much flavor-wise in this recipe. Having said that, it was good. I let it simmer for 2 hours to thicken it up, but felt it was missing something. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream and about a cup of shredded cheddar, which made it nice and creamy. I also added celery and carrots. Good recipe, I will make again but probably will try replacing the sausage with ground chicken or turkey. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I used this as a great recipe to throw in some leftovers - used just a little sausage, added pureed yellow squash and acorn squash. Used just a splash of cream and a little cream cheese instead of evaporated milk. Awesome meal for cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States