Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Solidly good - simple, basic flavors that resulted in a decently tasty chowder. I prepared exactly as called for, but in the end had to do as a few other reviewers noted and create a little roux of butter, flour and milk and then add it to the soup to help it reach the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswright1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I also changed it just a little. Instead of sausage I wanted to make it vegetarian, so I added veggie Italian style sausage crumbles, Spike veggie seasoning,1 cup of pureed Kale and 2 leeks. Yummy!!Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
great base to a great chowder. I have a couple of suggestions that you may enjoy. Add a small can of mediumn green chillies, use chicken stock instead of water, cook and grind half the sausage to add to the stock, cook the other half of the sausage in 1/2 inch pieces and add to stock. I added 2 tbls of corn starch to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by captain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Used home grown corn and kielbasa....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good recipe. I only used 3c. of potatoes and I left out the marjoram. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a can of cream of mushroom soup, Old Bay, black pepper and ground red pepper. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Kornmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome! I added extra corn and also tossed in some carrots. It was perfect for the rainy afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Absolutly delicious. I had sausage and corn chowder at a high rated restaurant and this recipe is better. Few changes: I used two cans of sweet creamed corn as opposed to one creamed corn/one kernel corn. Also used sage sausage andmild sausage mix. Slow cooked chowder for an hour on stove top. In a side pot added of the juice with flour and slow cooked till thick then added back to chowder.(personal preference to havge thick thick chowder). Bravo though delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Burke, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I fried six slices of bacon and added to the mix. Really a good soup for a cold fall day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I experimented with the following alterations: i used a can of diced potatoes for speedier prep, added a shredded carrot, 1 can of cream of celery soup. After browning the sausage and onion, i added about 2 TBS of flour and mixed well with the meat before adding to the potato mixture to thicken it up a bit. I used frozen corn, and a tube of the frozen creamed corn. I added a dash of curry powder, and crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My family and I loved this dish! It is now one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States