Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made this for the first time. Got two thumbs up form husband and friends... I used Kielbsa instead of the sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very simple and tasty. I didn't have sage flavored sausage as some recommended, so I added 1/2 tsp. sage to the soup. I also didn't have creamed corn, but didn't miss it. Tried a second time with 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese added. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
i made soups for a family gathering. doubled this recipe and every drop was eaten. will definitely make again. thanks yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was VERY tasty! It is not a super thick chowder (which I typically prefer) but I really enjoyed the consistency anyway. I added chicken bullion and carrots in with the potatoes and use 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 small can of kernel corn (I think the kernel corn gives an extra texture). I followed the suggestion of adding some flour to my sausage and onions and I really don't feel like it was necessary. This is a very good recipe and doesn't need a bunch of changes. I really love finding a recipe that is nice and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My four year old liked it and he never likes soup! Update made again w/smoked sausage, still good (left out onions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Solidly good - simple, basic flavors that resulted in a decently tasty chowder. I prepared exactly as called for, but in the end had to do as a few other reviewers noted and create a little roux of butter, flour and milk and then add it to the soup to help it reach the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswright1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I also changed it just a little. Instead of sausage I wanted to make it vegetarian, so I added veggie Italian style sausage crumbles, Spike veggie seasoning,1 cup of pureed Kale and 2 leeks. Yummy!!Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
great base to a great chowder. I have a couple of suggestions that you may enjoy. Add a small can of mediumn green chillies, use chicken stock instead of water, cook and grind half the sausage to add to the stock, cook the other half of the sausage in 1/2 inch pieces and add to stock. I added 2 tbls of corn starch to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by captain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Used home grown corn and kielbasa....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good recipe. I only used 3c. of potatoes and I left out the marjoram. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a can of cream of mushroom soup, Old Bay, black pepper and ground red pepper. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Kornmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States