Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this chowder. As others recommended, I substituted chicken broth for water. I did not have any marjoram so I used oregano. The only sausage I had was a sweet italian sausage. Overall a great recipe. We topped our soup with cheddar cheese and enjoyed. It was very filling and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The family loved this one and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
The measure of a great recipe is its ability to adapt to various tastes and still taste terrific. This soup certainly fits the bill. My husband is a meat eater, so I sliced a pound of smoked sausage and added it to the chowder. In addition, I skipped the instant potatoes and added cubed 3 red skinned potatoes instead. I let the stew simmer until the vegetables were well cooked and added the milk and half&half at the end. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I took some of the advice already posted and added chicken broth instead of water. I also had left over pork loin and used this as a substitute to the Sausage. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I haven't actually ate this yet, just a spoonful, and it's lovely! I made it last night for tonight's supper, can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was pretty good but not fabulous. I think it would have been boring without the sausage and that the flavor from the sausage is what kind of "made it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
We loved it! I used a bag of frozen corn in place of the regular canned corn. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
So good! I loved this and will definitely make again. I used two cans of creamed corn and omitted the can of whole kernel corn. Also added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Wow, was this some good food. My husband has been asking me every couple days, "so, when are you going to make that soup again?" Only changes I made were to sub. turkey broth for the water and use spicy sausage, add half a chopped red bell pepper, a carrot or two, some oregano and parsley, and used frozen whole kernel corn. Let all cook for a bit without the milk to comine the flavors. Then pureed about half of the soup in the food processor before putting it back on the stovetop to add and heat up the milk. We couldn't stop at one bowl! Hearty, creamy, filling. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States