Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was so good! I made a few changes: didn't peel the potatoes, used chicken sausage, added carrots and parsley, used chicken broth instead of water, and 1 cup of half/half instead of the evap. milk. I dissolved 1T of flour in the cream before I added it to the soup to thicken it up a bit. Next time I will probably add another can of whole kernel corn, too. I love corn chowder and this was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This is a fantastic chowder and so easy!! My husband is from New England and is picky about his "chowdas", he loved this and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This was really good! I made a couple changes though, I didn't peel the potatoes and I added diced carrot and celery and used smoked sausage. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
WOW! SO good. The only actual changes I made were using 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the evap. milk and chicken broth instead of water. Some recommendations: use italian sausage, a mix of red and yukon gold potatoes (they're what I had on hand and turned out great!), add a couple splashes of Tobasco, and use red onion =). I also added some spices based on personal preference. This is AWESOME and easy to tweak to perfection. (Note: I let this simmer for about an hour and the consistency was perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Lee
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I just made this last night and my husband and I both thought it was very good. I did use chicken broth instead of water and red potatoes unpeeled. For the sausage I used keilbasa (however you spell it) I also took some to my parents for lunch today and they both enjoyed it. I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
this chowder is perfect for cold winter weather! it was very delicious and filling! i used lite sausage and instead of the marjoram, i used oregano. i will make this over & over again! you can even prep the potatoes & sausage & onion in advance! how convenient!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
My family absolutely went nuts over this chowder; particularly my 13 year old daughter who loves creamed corn to begin with. I used two cans of creamed corn only, added some red onion and diced roasted red peppers for some color. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
So good! I loved this and will definitely make again. I used two cans of creamed corn and omitted the can of whole kernel corn. Also added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I was so surprised at how delicious this was. I was skeptical because I had never used evaporated milk before, and I hate creamed corn. That being said, I was in a chowder mood. I tweaked the recipe a little bit, I added half a pound of breakfast sausage and a package of bacon ends, which I fried together, and added to the chowder. In the bacon/sausage grease I fried the onions until they were just beginning to become translucent, so they still had a crunch. Fabulous recipe, my last corn chowder sucked, this one completely redeemed the meal. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This is so easy and so good!! I did add some cheese. Everyone loved this, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States