Corn Chowder with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! My kids ask for it all the time. To make it a little healthier I used Turkey Sausage the second time I made it and it was just as good. Quick and easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I've been making this basic chowder recipe for several years. The chowder always gets rave reviews and recipe requests every time I make it for work, family and friends. I double & even triple the recipe but it's never enough. I use low sodium chicken broth in place of the water; 4-6 cups cubed potato; 1 roll of hot sausage and 1 lg can of evaporated milk instead of cream per recipe. Feel free to add more marjoram (I've even added sage and thyme for a change). It does make a fairly thin chowder but you can thicken it up with a couple tablespoons of instant potato flakes if you prefer. I serve it with chopped green onions and cheddar cheese on top. Gets even better reheated the next day. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this chowder. As others recommended, I substituted chicken broth for water. I did not have any marjoram so I used oregano. The only sausage I had was a sweet italian sausage. Overall a great recipe. We topped our soup with cheddar cheese and enjoyed. It was very filling and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The family loved this one and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
The measure of a great recipe is its ability to adapt to various tastes and still taste terrific. This soup certainly fits the bill. My husband is a meat eater, so I sliced a pound of smoked sausage and added it to the chowder. In addition, I skipped the instant potatoes and added cubed 3 red skinned potatoes instead. I let the stew simmer until the vegetables were well cooked and added the milk and half&half at the end. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I took some of the advice already posted and added chicken broth instead of water. I also had left over pork loin and used this as a substitute to the Sausage. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I haven't actually ate this yet, just a spoonful, and it's lovely! I made it last night for tonight's supper, can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was pretty good but not fabulous. I think it would have been boring without the sausage and that the flavor from the sausage is what kind of "made it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
We loved it! I used a bag of frozen corn in place of the regular canned corn. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States