Corn Chowder with Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
In quebec we call this pate chinois ( shephard's pie ) love this and so do kids. especially with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meli27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I didn't have all of the ingredients to this recipe, so I sort of used the bones as a guide, and made the MOST delicious chowder. I wish I could rate this recipe based off the recipe alone, but maybe another time. I just wanted to say thanks. I found it to be a life saving guide to a very delicious meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Good recipe. Everyone liked it the first time it was prepared. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
quick, simple, and it taste GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Over all I enjoyed this recipe. My 10yr old son and I made it for his 4th grade class we made a few changes, I added 1/2 lb of crisp bacon, I used shoe peg corn. I also added small diced carrots one time and you can also use sausage to make it a sausage corn chowder. I crisped the bacon first then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Shaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
it was pretty good as is but much better when I added a pinch of minced garlic to the beef and onions. And I used half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Good with jazz. This was a great base recipe! When preparing it I added a pinch of basil, cinnamon, and nutmeg for the sweet tooth and 1 can green chiles and a pinch of cayenne for spice. For added creamy I used 2 tbsp of sour cream and a half stick of butter. End result: soup to write home about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was a fantastic recipe! I'm currently living in a different country and could not find creamed corn in the grocery store, so I substituted by adding extra milk, a teaspoon or so of sugar, and a teaspoon or so of flour. I also doubled the amount of whole kernel corn to make up for the lack of creamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very easy to make and even better after I added about a half cup of sour cream and 4tbls. of butter! I also used chipotle corn and it gave it a little kick, as well as fingerling potatoes, leaving the skin on! I agree, it is a great base soup! You can adjust the recipe to suit your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Add a can of red kidney beans not drained and salt and pepper it is really good like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States