Corn Chowder with Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
In quebec we call this pate chinois ( shephard's pie ) love this and so do kids. especially with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meli27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I didn't have all of the ingredients to this recipe, so I sort of used the bones as a guide, and made the MOST delicious chowder. I wish I could rate this recipe based off the recipe alone, but maybe another time. I just wanted to say thanks. I found it to be a life saving guide to a very delicious meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Good recipe. Everyone liked it the first time it was prepared. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
quick, simple, and it taste GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very easy to make and even better after I added about a half cup of sour cream and 4tbls. of butter! I also used chipotle corn and it gave it a little kick, as well as fingerling potatoes, leaving the skin on! I agree, it is a great base soup! You can adjust the recipe to suit your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Add a can of red kidney beans not drained and salt and pepper it is really good like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Over all I enjoyed this recipe. My 10yr old son and I made it for his 4th grade class we made a few changes, I added 1/2 lb of crisp bacon, I used shoe peg corn. I also added small diced carrots one time and you can also use sausage to make it a sausage corn chowder. I crisped the bacon first then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUTECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was a fantastic recipe! I'm currently living in a different country and could not find creamed corn in the grocery store, so I substituted by adding extra milk, a teaspoon or so of sugar, and a teaspoon or so of flour. I also doubled the amount of whole kernel corn to make up for the lack of creamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Good with jazz. This was a great base recipe! When preparing it I added a pinch of basil, cinnamon, and nutmeg for the sweet tooth and 1 can green chiles and a pinch of cayenne for spice. For added creamy I used 2 tbsp of sour cream and a half stick of butter. End result: soup to write home about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe had some issues, all of which can be fixed. For flavor, we will try chicken broth to cook the potatoes instead of water. The potatoes did not cook when the recipe doubled - we will try microwave or boiling water. For thickening, we will try flour or cornstarch slurry. Until then, only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States