Corn Chowder with Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Good with jazz. This was a great base recipe! When preparing it I added a pinch of basil, cinnamon, and nutmeg for the sweet tooth and 1 can green chiles and a pinch of cayenne for spice. For added creamy I used 2 tbsp of sour cream and a half stick of butter. End result: soup to write home about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Over all I enjoyed this recipe. My 10yr old son and I made it for his 4th grade class we made a few changes, I added 1/2 lb of crisp bacon, I used shoe peg corn. I also added small diced carrots one time and you can also use sausage to make it a sausage corn chowder. I crisped the bacon first then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUTECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Thought I could help this recipe by adding garlic and hot peppers and sprinkling with cheddar cheese. Nope, not so much it was still really, really bland. It needs to be richer, maybe 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. I don't think I will bother as there many other better soup recipes ot there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
As other reviewers have said, this is a great base. My revisions: 1 - I used cream instead of milk. I'll probably use half&half next time. Also, I drained the potatoes to get all the water out. It gave it great texture. 2 - I didn't use canned corn. I used corn that I had frozen from last summer. 3 - Salt & Pepper. I added at least a Tablespoon of ground black pepper. 4 - Frank's RedHot! Perfectly blended with these ingredients & gave it a nice kick. Thank you for a good base recipe that is easy to maniuplate to still get a great chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Super Bland, easy to make, just needs a lot of flavor, would be easier to start with a different base and make stew or soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe had some issues, all of which can be fixed. For flavor, we will try chicken broth to cook the potatoes instead of water. The potatoes did not cook when the recipe doubled - we will try microwave or boiling water. For thickening, we will try flour or cornstarch slurry. Until then, only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
quick, simple, and it taste GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This chowder was EXTREMELY BLAND. I added 5 beef boullion cubes hoping to give it some flavor but it didn't help that much. If you attempt to try this recipe anyway, I would recommend frying up some bacon (until crisp) and adding it. That might make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
In quebec we call this pate chinois ( shephard's pie ) love this and so do kids. especially with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meli27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was a fantastic recipe! I'm currently living in a different country and could not find creamed corn in the grocery store, so I substituted by adding extra milk, a teaspoon or so of sugar, and a teaspoon or so of flour. I also doubled the amount of whole kernel corn to make up for the lack of creamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States