Corn Chowder with Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Good recipe. Everyone liked it the first time it was prepared. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
hearty but very very bland. not sweet enough. not salty enough. maybe add garlic to the saute to give the beef a little kick of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This chowder was EXTREMELY BLAND. I added 5 beef boullion cubes hoping to give it some flavor but it didn't help that much. If you attempt to try this recipe anyway, I would recommend frying up some bacon (until crisp) and adding it. That might make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
VERY bland. If I tried this again, it would be with some major alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Thought I could help this recipe by adding garlic and hot peppers and sprinkling with cheddar cheese. Nope, not so much it was still really, really bland. It needs to be richer, maybe 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. I don't think I will bother as there many other better soup recipes ot there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
quick, simple, and it taste GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Good with jazz. This was a great base recipe! When preparing it I added a pinch of basil, cinnamon, and nutmeg for the sweet tooth and 1 can green chiles and a pinch of cayenne for spice. For added creamy I used 2 tbsp of sour cream and a half stick of butter. End result: soup to write home about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe had some issues, all of which can be fixed. For flavor, we will try chicken broth to cook the potatoes instead of water. The potatoes did not cook when the recipe doubled - we will try microwave or boiling water. For thickening, we will try flour or cornstarch slurry. Until then, only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Over all I enjoyed this recipe. My 10yr old son and I made it for his 4th grade class we made a few changes, I added 1/2 lb of crisp bacon, I used shoe peg corn. I also added small diced carrots one time and you can also use sausage to make it a sausage corn chowder. I crisped the bacon first then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Shaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Super Bland, easy to make, just needs a lot of flavor, would be easier to start with a different base and make stew or soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States