Corn Chowder IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
EXCELLENT!!! This is the best soup I have ever made. If you like cream of potato soup then you will love this. I doubled the recipe to serve at a Halloween party and did NOT add the margarine. You do not need that at all so save yourself the extra fat/calories and you won't have that grease sitting on top of it when it seperates. Thanks so much for the recipe...I will make again and again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Hi! I am Rebecca. I like this recipe. When I was making this, I had a bad feeling that I might make it wrong, or it wouldn't taste good. But at the end, I tasted it, and it was so good! But I cut the bacon too big, and my mom said the onions were too big. My brothers liked it. For a side dish, we had corn bread. My family liked it. But I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroupc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Unless you live alone, or you're on a 1,000 calorie a day diet, just double this recipe, it's that good. I've shared some with friends and family, and everyone thinks this is my best effort yet. The only thing I changed was to add a can of regular corn as well as he cream style corn, and I fried the bacon crispy before adding the onions. You'll love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is THE best corn chowder we have ever had! Cooked the bacon very crispy (we don't like gobs of fat chucks floating around) and added an extra can of regular corn. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very quick and easy soup. Delicious! The only change I would make is to add the bacon drippings for more flavor. I took advice from others and added 1 can whole kernal corn and used low sodium beef broth in place of the water. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This chowder was absolutely delicious! Hearty, hot and flavorful. We only used half of the amount of cheese called for (bagged/shredded), but it was just as creamy as we could have hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good enough for me! I threw in some leftover kielbasa and used shredded (probably doubled the amount, I like my cheese) cheddar cheese instead of what's listed in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but it turned out ok. The flavors were good but a little on the bland side and I didn't like the thin consistency. I ended up adding cornstarch to try to thicken it but it was still pretty runny. The family ate it nontheless. Will try a different version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
EXCELLENT! Made it for my husband and I and we absolutely loved it. I will definitely be making this again! Made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. Next time though I think I will try the Campbell's cheese soup instead of cheese cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Pretty good! I didn't have a scale to weigh 3 pounds of potatoes. I only had a 5 pound bag of red potatoes so I just used a little less than the whole bag. Plus, I read some comments about the broth being watery, which I did not want. So I figured if I diced some of the potatoes smaller and then boil/simmer them a little longer, they would break away and thicken the broth...which they did! I didn't bother peeling them either. I put a little chicken broth in with the water which was probably of waste. I used cheese whiz which is all I had. Either that, or sliced American cheese. So I went with the whiz. And I added the extra can of corn like some suggested. I also used a whole pack of bacon because there's never too much bacon. I didn't add very much salt, but a Lot of black pepper and a little garlic powder. And I let it all simmer for about 35 minutes or so to really give the broth a chance to thicken. It's not terribly thick, but far from watery. It's perfect. It seems to get better with every spoonful! I can tell this is going to be a GREAT left over. Excellent recipe! Next time I'm going to try it with some of the better cheeses that others have suggested and get a better handle on how much potatoes I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States