Corn Chowder IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is great! Growing up my stepmom had a recipe for corn chowder but I wanted my own variation...I love the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I made this when I stayed with friends over New Year's Eve and it was a big hit. A hearty soup that will stick to your ribs and impress your friends. I did add a little hot sauce to the soup for extra flavor. Grab some wine and crusty bread and enjoy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUEAKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
It turned out really good. I doubled the amount of cheese, added 6oz of bacon instead of 4 oz and did not add any salt or pepper. The whole family liked it including my picky 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I did it all backwards. I didn't read the directions before hand and I put it all in a small pressure cooker and put it on too high of a temp. Despite it all I will definitely make again and just throw it all in together in the crockpot. I'm sure that it will work just as well that way. Excellent after a cold day. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Unless you live alone, or you're on a 1,000 calorie a day diet, just double this recipe, it's that good. I've shared some with friends and family, and everyone thinks this is my best effort yet. The only thing I changed was to add a can of regular corn as well as he cream style corn, and I fried the bacon crispy before adding the onions. You'll love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This soup is great! I'm eating it RIGHT NOW!! I didn't do it EXACTLY as said. First off, there is absolutely no need to put butter/margarine. Second, I didn't put the bacon in the soup (well, I put there slices without cooking them first... you know, sorta like when you make baked beans??) - but I don't think that did much. What I did, is like someelse said, I sprinkled the bacon on the soup. Right now, I also put gruyere on top... It melted and is sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Amazing! I used 1 can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese soup instead of the cubed cheese and it came out perfectly. Great dish for the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
EXCELLENT!!! This is the best soup I have ever made. If you like cream of potato soup then you will love this. I doubled the recipe to serve at a Halloween party and did NOT add the margarine. You do not need that at all so save yourself the extra fat/calories and you won't have that grease sitting on top of it when it seperates. Thanks so much for the recipe...I will make again and again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Corn chowder is my most favorite soup and I was on a mission to make it. I never knew how easy it would be to make it! This recipe is super easy and came out tasting WONDERFUL! I think I put too much water in it because it was a little thin, I covered the diced potatoes with water - but it maybe had 1" of water above them once they settled. I also forgot to put the whole milk in - until after I had finished my bowl for the night - but added it in the next day and it was wonderful. It also makes A LOT of chowder - I froze half of it thinking I would be sick of the chowder by now - but I am going to defrost it soon since the half I left in the fridge is almost all gone. I used the Campbell's Cheddar Cheese as suggested (wow! I never knew Campbell's made cheddar cheese in a can until I read reviews here - I'll be using that for other recipes) - but I quickly took out as much as I could because I did not like the cheesey taste. And, I put in 6oz. of bacon and 2cans creamed corn + 1 can regular corn as others suggested - and I felt that was the perfect amount for the soup. YUMMY, easy to make corn chowder - and I am still excited that I now know how to make my favorite soup! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Incredibly easy and good! As I was making it, I thought it would be bland because I wasn't adding any spices, but it turned out great! the only cheese I had on hand was grated cheddar, so used that. Next time I'll try the Campbell's cheese. I've added another comfort food to my list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States