Corn Chowder IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is my favorite comfort food recipe. I also add the extra can of corn and chopped red pepper. It freezes well, too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmcormier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This soup is great. It was quick, easy, relatively inexpensive, and I usually have the ingredients on hand other than the cheese. Everyone in my family enjoyed this. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is THE best corn chowder we have ever had! Cooked the bacon very crispy (we don't like gobs of fat chucks floating around) and added an extra can of regular corn. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I didn't make any changes to this recipe. It was just OK for me. That's why I only gave it a three. Was a little to bland for me. I'm not sure what it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This chowder was absolutely delicious! Hearty, hot and flavorful. We only used half of the amount of cheese called for (bagged/shredded), but it was just as creamy as we could have hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Incredibly easy and good! As I was making it, I thought it would be bland because I wasn't adding any spices, but it turned out great! the only cheese I had on hand was grated cheddar, so used that. Next time I'll try the Campbell's cheese. I've added another comfort food to my list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Corn chowder is my most favorite soup and I was on a mission to make it. I never knew how easy it would be to make it! This recipe is super easy and came out tasting WONDERFUL! I think I put too much water in it because it was a little thin, I covered the diced potatoes with water - but it maybe had 1" of water above them once they settled. I also forgot to put the whole milk in - until after I had finished my bowl for the night - but added it in the next day and it was wonderful. It also makes A LOT of chowder - I froze half of it thinking I would be sick of the chowder by now - but I am going to defrost it soon since the half I left in the fridge is almost all gone. I used the Campbell's Cheddar Cheese as suggested (wow! I never knew Campbell's made cheddar cheese in a can until I read reviews here - I'll be using that for other recipes) - but I quickly took out as much as I could because I did not like the cheesey taste. And, I put in 6oz. of bacon and 2cans creamed corn + 1 can regular corn as others suggested - and I felt that was the perfect amount for the soup. YUMMY, easy to make corn chowder - and I am still excited that I now know how to make my favorite soup! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
EXCELLENT!!! This is the best soup I have ever made. If you like cream of potato soup then you will love this. I doubled the recipe to serve at a Halloween party and did NOT add the margarine. You do not need that at all so save yourself the extra fat/calories and you won't have that grease sitting on top of it when it seperates. Thanks so much for the recipe...I will make again and again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Amazing! I used 1 can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese soup instead of the cubed cheese and it came out perfectly. Great dish for the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This soup is great! I'm eating it RIGHT NOW!! I didn't do it EXACTLY as said. First off, there is absolutely no need to put butter/margarine. Second, I didn't put the bacon in the soup (well, I put there slices without cooking them first... you know, sorta like when you make baked beans??) - but I don't think that did much. What I did, is like someelse said, I sprinkled the bacon on the soup. Right now, I also put gruyere on top... It melted and is sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States