Corn Chowder IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This soup is growing on me... I didn't love it when I first made it, but I froze a bunch and I'm finding that I like it quite a bit. I followed other suggestions and added a can of corn. Also, some people said it was too watery. The recipe doesn't really say, but I think maybe you are supposed to drain the potatoes after you boil them, rather than keeping the water in the pot. I took out about half the water and it was fine, but maybe slightly too watery. Next time I would take out more of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the first time I ever made corn chowder, and this was simple and very tasty. I tripled the recipe because a single or even double wouldn't have given us leftovers. Very tasty, I didn't change anything. I added chicken to it to make it like a chicken corn chowder I buy, and this was better than that. Definitely will make this again, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Hi! I am Rebecca. I like this recipe. When I was making this, I had a bad feeling that I might make it wrong, or it wouldn't taste good. But at the end, I tasted it, and it was so good! But I cut the bacon too big, and my mom said the onions were too big. My brothers liked it. For a side dish, we had corn bread. My family liked it. But I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroupc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was nice and easy and tasty. One thing, though - I used real cheddar cheese, grated into the chowder until it was thick enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent chowder for a crowd! Everyone loved it, next time I may use half&half or cream instead of evaporated milk. Even better leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good enough for me! I threw in some leftover kielbasa and used shredded (probably doubled the amount, I like my cheese) cheddar cheese instead of what's listed in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but it turned out ok. The flavors were good but a little on the bland side and I didn't like the thin consistency. I ended up adding cornstarch to try to thicken it but it was still pretty runny. The family ate it nontheless. Will try a different version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very quick and easy soup. Delicious! The only change I would make is to add the bacon drippings for more flavor. I took advice from others and added 1 can whole kernal corn and used low sodium beef broth in place of the water. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
EXCELLENT! Made it for my husband and I and we absolutely loved it. I will definitely be making this again! Made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. Next time though I think I will try the Campbell's cheese soup instead of cheese cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States