Corn Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wow, this was not good at all to my husband and I, sorry. way too thin and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very delicious recipe. I made this for Christmas day. I left out the bacon, as I dont eat pork ( its not available at my organic farm ). I also only used 1 can of evaporated milk, and I added 3 red skinned potatoes chopped up to give it more substance. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this was pretty good. i halved the recipe but left the full amount of bacon. :) substituted red pepper. used whole corn, taking half and running through food processor. would use 1/4 - 1/2 of the amount of water recommended. we added cayenne pepper for a nice kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made this recipe a week ago and it was really good. But I must admit that it was rather thin making it less of a chowder and more so a vegetable soup. I made the recipe again, though this time I added a tablespoon and a half of flour after sauteing the vegetables to make a sort of roux. This came out to a much better consistency then before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very nice. I used celery instead of celery leaves, because I could not find any celery leaves. My family loved it. It has a bit of a thin consistency, but other than that, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was as good as corn chowder can be, really easy and tasted wonderful. I just added a bit more salt and pepper to taste. This is a great recipe, thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Canedo - GO STEELERS!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Ladies Bonspiel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The consistancy of this recipe is really too thin. I would cut back the water and maybe subtract a can of the cond milk. Like the other reviewer, I also added potatoes to make it a little chunkier. Good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If you like a thiner soup this is it but I prefer a thicker soup so I added an equal amount of drained whole kernel corn and left out 2 cans of evap milk. I crumbled the bacon and added it as a garnish with a bit of shredded cheese. This recipe is as easy as falling off a log and has a delicous flavor,,,I use it in my restaurant and recomend it. Lois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I work at a lodge in the mountains of Idaho. I had some guest coming in for lunch. I needed a quick tasty lunch idea. I cooked this soup up and it was a great hit. It was sweet and creamy and very easy to make. I didn't have any celery so I used celery seed and added a couple of potatoes. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States