Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! I used almond milk and it was just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This recipe was not good! It was burnt after 10 minutes. I really don't know what the other comments are talking about but cheese cooking for 1 hour makes it burnt. I cooked it for 10 minutes and it tasted almost horrible. We suffered through it not to waste all that food but I do NOT recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Family loved it. Was easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker instead, but kept fairly close to the recipe. Only differences were I skipped the veggies, and shredded potatoes into the soup instead. I used heavy cream and a little bit of milk until the liquid came just slightly above the level of the corn. I cooked it in the slow cooker for about 4 hours on high, and added the cheese right before I served it. Best chowder I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is by far my absolute favorite corn chowder. I have made it several times and even brought it to a holiday party where it was a big hit. Last time I made it, I added 1 cubed russett potato, 1 chopped carrot, and 1/2 cup frozen peas. As usual, I am kicking myself for not doubling or tripling the recipe to have enough leftovers for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Had I not added the full can of creamed corn, I probably would have liked this chowder more. It took a lot of random additions to mask that tell-tale taste. Fortunately I used frozen kernel corn... just should have used more of it and adjusted liquids from that point. Not a bad little chowder, considering it uses common pantry/freezer items (very useful during snow/ice storms) and comes together in a flash (ditto when trying to dig out after said snow/ice storm). Thanks Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I thought this was surprisingly excellent, I followed the directions almost exactly except I shortened the cooking time. for anyone on a time budget, I suggest mixing the creamed corn and milk in the pan you want your finished soup in, on mediumish heat, after 5 minutes add in your other can of corn. In the meantime (during the 5 minutes) melt the butter in a separate small saucepan, then add the onions, give it the three minutes, add the seasonings, wine, and flour, add to what should be now a nice thick corn soup in the other pan, add the cheese and bell pepper and voila! Very easy, delicious, and took about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Easy recipe with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I kicked this up a bit with some tomato juice (very little). It was really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States