Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I just finished making this . It tastes very yummy . The only thing I added was some garlic powder and celery salt . Also , after I cooked the onions , I poured onions and bacon grease in pot . Have it all in my slow cooker right now to blend all the flavors . Gonna be yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've been looking for a good corn chowder and I finally found it. I just finished eating my second bowl and thinking about a three. LOVE IT!!!! Will make again and again. The only thing I will do differently next time is add the bacon to my bowl. I like my bacon very crispy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I love this!! This chowder recipe is scrumptious AS IS and reminded me of growing up in New England. I do (don't we all?) like to make a few MINOR tweaks though. I add 1 tablespoon of chicken boullion powder and 1 tablespoon of dried celery flakes along with the milk and other ingredients; switch out one of the cans of creamed corn and replace it with a can of white shoepeg whole kernel corn; skip the flour step (makes this dish GLUTEN FREE) and instead just add a corn starch paste (2 tablespoons to 1/3 cup water) once the milk combo is at a nice simmer; and lastly, I add 1/2 cup shredded cheddar towards the end. I also make sure I use a nice thick, smoked slab bacon as that smoked flavor is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Nice thick chowder with lots of flavoring. I used 1 pound of ham chunks instead of the bacon as I was using bacon in another soup recipe being served the same day. The group I fed this really enjoyed it and we thought it was even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Could have definetly been thicker and I mashed all of the potatoes. I also added 1 cup of celery since I had some to use up, an extra onion, some seasoning salt, and a little fresh parsley and chives for on top. The flavour was pretty good. I used two cans creamed corn and about a cup frozen corn since we had lots of frozen corn we had to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this tonight for supper and it was very good. I used regular can corn because I didn't have the cream style, and it was very good. It makes alot so you will have alot of leftovers. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is an excellent soup. It makes a ton of soup. For the 8 cups of milk I used 1 qt of fat-free 1/2 & 1/2, 1 can of chicken broth and the rest 1% milk. I also used 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 whole niblets, drained. Great for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
the finished product was very good but i made some changes. i put in a couple stalks of diced celery and along with the creamed corn i used regular canned corn. i did not mash any of the potatoes as it was going to be plenty thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I'm only rating it a three because it wasn't my cup of tea. Unfortunately. Sorry I couldn't give it a better review.... :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
very good, quick to make. I also used some chick stock in place of all milk and added scallions for color. if your looking for a fast easy recipie this is it. great for first time chowder cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States