Corn Chowder - Fast and Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this, but different enough to ask readers to consider: use a bit more bacon grease to cook the onions; aggresively season the potatoes, and fry them until they are lightly browned; leave out the oregano, add a pinch of nutmeg, use a good amount of white pepper or cayenne pepper to give it some snap, add 3/4 cup of sour cream out the end, and heat through. Leave out the cheeses! Diced carrots can be added with the onion, and frozen peas can be added with the corn, for variety. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent recipe!!! I did add flour to thicken it some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! I did, however, add about 1 tbsp. flour to the onions before adding the potatoes; this gave it a thicker consistency. I also used the larger can of whole kernel can as I did not have the 10 oz. can. My husband, who is very picky, raved about it. Make a double batch, as it goes quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This soup is absolutely fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was wonderful. The soup was more brothy then thick, but alittle flour will take care of that. But the flavor was super and sooo easy. Thanks for a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Great tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I made a few changes and this recipe was wonderful! Based on previous reviews, I added about 5 cloves of garlic in with the onions, a little extra bacon, 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and only used 4 cups chicken stock. I also added 1/2 cup of 2% milk. It came out Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was a yummy cream soup. It's not quite thick enough to be a chowder but still delicious. I used Swanson Seasoned Chicken Broth since that was what I had on hand and it added a lot of flavor. I forgot to buy an onion so that was omitted. Next time I will try to remember to thicken it up a bit with some flour. Definitely a perfect supper for chilly winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! just a hint - I put the bacon & onion together first, added the potatoes, stock and seasonings. Once potatoes cooked, blend with hand-blender for thick and creamy soup - then add your corns. I don't know what Jack cheese is, so used Gouda and Tasty. Definately make again! Also, I strained it and gave it to my 15month old and she loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Scrumptious! I would call it soup however, not chowder, it's not thick. But we'll be adding this to our list of regular soups!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States