Corn Chowder - Fast and Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this, but different enough to ask readers to consider: use a bit more bacon grease to cook the onions; aggresively season the potatoes, and fry them until they are lightly browned; leave out the oregano, add a pinch of nutmeg, use a good amount of white pepper or cayenne pepper to give it some snap, add 3/4 cup of sour cream out the end, and heat through. Leave out the cheeses! Diced carrots can be added with the onion, and frozen peas can be added with the corn, for variety. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
After I cooked the bacon to a crisp, I took it out of the skillet and all but 2-3 tablespoons of the drippings and sauteed the onion and a little fresh minced garlic in the drippings until the onion turned translucent. I added the bacon, sauteed onion/garlic, potatoes, chicken broth, spices, and the corn to my crockpot and cooked them on LOW for most of the day. Once I got home, I turned the heat down on my crockpot and lightly smushed the potatoes with my old fashioned potato masher, then added the cream and the cheeses. The soup was okay but it didn't have nearly enough bacon, cheese or spices. After tasting it, I did throw in more monterey jack/cheddar cheese and a few more spices. Not a bad soup that worked out well for me in the crockpot. I don't know that I would make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I guess I should have read the reviews first and I would have added less stock and another can of creamed corn. For me, this was too thin to be called a chowder. I got a tip from a co-worker though, that will be good on the leftovers...add instant mashed potatoes until the desired consistency is achieved. I think that will help. Overall good flavor though. Will probably make again with the noted changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was a yummy cream soup. It's not quite thick enough to be a chowder but still delicious. I used Swanson Seasoned Chicken Broth since that was what I had on hand and it added a lot of flavor. I forgot to buy an onion so that was omitted. Next time I will try to remember to thicken it up a bit with some flour. Definitely a perfect supper for chilly winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
We enjoyed this soup. I cook the bacon and remove it - use it for the garnish as we like it crisp. You can add more potatoes and kind of mash them. I did add celery & carrots and used fresh thyme instead of the oregano. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I made a few changes and this recipe was wonderful! Based on previous reviews, I added about 5 cloves of garlic in with the onions, a little extra bacon, 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and only used 4 cups chicken stock. I also added 1/2 cup of 2% milk. It came out Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! I did, however, add about 1 tbsp. flour to the onions before adding the potatoes; this gave it a thicker consistency. I also used the larger can of whole kernel can as I did not have the 10 oz. can. My husband, who is very picky, raved about it. Make a double batch, as it goes quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
We added smoked sausage to this recipe. It makes a LOT! It was really good and we have made this numerous times on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! just a hint - I put the bacon & onion together first, added the potatoes, stock and seasonings. Once potatoes cooked, blend with hand-blender for thick and creamy soup - then add your corns. I don't know what Jack cheese is, so used Gouda and Tasty. Definately make again! Also, I strained it and gave it to my 15month old and she loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
While my boyfriend raved about this soup, I'd have to say it was just o.k. I used larger cans of corn, as I couldn't find the size specified. I also used some flour/water paste before adding the cream to help thicken it up as someone else mentioned - It was quite brothy. The result was somewhat bland - maybe next time I'll try adding some thyme or a bay leaf to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States