Corn Chowder - Fast and Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! I did, however, add about 1 tbsp. flour to the onions before adding the potatoes; this gave it a thicker consistency. I also used the larger can of whole kernel can as I did not have the 10 oz. can. My husband, who is very picky, raved about it. Make a double batch, as it goes quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This soup is absolutely fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was wonderful. The soup was more brothy then thick, but alittle flour will take care of that. But the flavor was super and sooo easy. Thanks for a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
While my boyfriend raved about this soup, I'd have to say it was just o.k. I used larger cans of corn, as I couldn't find the size specified. I also used some flour/water paste before adding the cream to help thicken it up as someone else mentioned - It was quite brothy. The result was somewhat bland - maybe next time I'll try adding some thyme or a bay leaf to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Sell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Great tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I made a few changes and this recipe was wonderful! Based on previous reviews, I added about 5 cloves of garlic in with the onions, a little extra bacon, 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and only used 4 cups chicken stock. I also added 1/2 cup of 2% milk. It came out Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was very good- despite other suggestions, the only changes I made were to add double the amount of cream corn- and it was plenty thick enough. Very very good, but I will still add more corn next time- it was almost a potato chowder with some corn in it. All in all, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was a yummy cream soup. It's not quite thick enough to be a chowder but still delicious. I used Swanson Seasoned Chicken Broth since that was what I had on hand and it added a lot of flavor. I forgot to buy an onion so that was omitted. Next time I will try to remember to thicken it up a bit with some flour. Definitely a perfect supper for chilly winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I had to use pre-packaged shreaded potatoes due to time. It turned out really good. I also used turkey bacon and added polish sausage to make it a meal. I loved the taste and texture. it was pretty thick and yummy. I also topped it with a dollop of sour cream and that was a perfect touch. Not very waiste line friendly but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this, but different enough to ask readers to consider: use a bit more bacon grease to cook the onions; aggresively season the potatoes, and fry them until they are lightly browned; leave out the oregano, add a pinch of nutmeg, use a good amount of white pepper or cayenne pepper to give it some snap, add 3/4 cup of sour cream out the end, and heat through. Leave out the cheeses! Diced carrots can be added with the onion, and frozen peas can be added with the corn, for variety. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States