Corn Chowder - Fast and Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very flavorful. I used sweet onion and added a sweet sausage (steamed separately and not Italian) for a hearty take. It paired great with the bacon. I used exact measurements for corn and it was just fine. Did use corn labeled "sweet" though. Did not peel the potatoes and used a combination of colored fingerlings. They are generally soft and quicker to cook. 10 and 12-year old ate it up. Served with cornbread made in muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a good base recipe. I switched things up.. I used all of the bacon drippings (about 3 tbls.) to cook the onions. I then added the potatoes that I seasoned with sea salt and pepper to the mix. I nixed the oregano and instead added cayenne pepper, white pepper and nutmeg. I mashed the potatoes with a stick blender..I used nothing but frozen corn, and replaced the cheeses with sour cream. I gave my husband the option of the bacon as a garnish or cooking it in the chowder. He chose garnish..It was wonderful the first night and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
After I cooked the bacon to a crisp, I took it out of the skillet and all but 2-3 tablespoons of the drippings and sauteed the onion and a little fresh minced garlic in the drippings until the onion turned translucent. I added the bacon, sauteed onion/garlic, potatoes, chicken broth, spices, and the corn to my crockpot and cooked them on LOW for most of the day. Once I got home, I turned the heat down on my crockpot and lightly smushed the potatoes with my old fashioned potato masher, then added the cream and the cheeses. The soup was okay but it didn't have nearly enough bacon, cheese or spices. After tasting it, I did throw in more monterey jack/cheddar cheese and a few more spices. Not a bad soup that worked out well for me in the crockpot. I don't know that I would make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
We enjoyed this soup. I cook the bacon and remove it - use it for the garnish as we like it crisp. You can add more potatoes and kind of mash them. I did add celery & carrots and used fresh thyme instead of the oregano. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Outstanding recipe. This was fast and easy, had great taste. Next time I am going to add crab and may mash some of the potatoes to make it a tad thicker-overall I thought it was really good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHELMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm not a great cook and not in the best of moods but I had a heck of a time with this recipe. I think I've spent close to 2 hours on it with prep included. I had my gas stove set to medium high heat but those potato cubes were not browning, finally cranked it up to high to get them going. Then the simmering...I have simmered before but again, wasn't happening on anything lower than medium so after the first 15 minutes raised the heat. Finally some action but those darned potatoes were not getting soft so I think we ended up with 45 minutes of cook time before I added the corn, then cooked for another 20 minutes or so (I've lost track) and most of the potatoes were cooked through. Added the heavy cream and cheese, mixed and...bland. I think maybe salt and pepper to taste should be a little more specific, I think of a pinch and a dash but so far I've added at least 1/4 tsp of each. I only used 3 cups of chicken broth and 2 large baking potatoes so the consistency was great. I did not add the flour as others suggested but I do have good consistency. This was EXCELLENT the following day reheated in the microwave, the flavors definitely melded overnight so I have upgraded my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Ok, so I used my bacon yesterday for BLT's and didn't have any for this BUT I did have some bacon grease to saute the onions and garlic ( my addition)and potatoes in. I didn't brown the potatoes, 'cus time was a factor, and only added 3 cups of a flavorful , so many arn't, chicken broth. I couldn't get my eye on the oreagano and so used basil and had no cream so added what we drink - 1% milk. I added alittle more cheese than called for. We like it alittle thicker so I just mashed up some of the potatoes and stirred it up - GREAT! This is the best recipe to work from - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
It was okay. Everyone ate it without complaining, but it lacked the flavor we like. In spite of all the other ingredients (potatoes, cheese, onions, etc.) it kept too much of the "canned" taste of the corn -- you know, that flavor canned corn has that fresh or frozen doesn't. I guess I shouldn't be surprised since it does have 2 cans worth in it. :-) I think it needed something to balance out that flavor. On the other hand, if you love canned corn, you will probably love this. It looked really scrumptious while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I picked this recipe because I didn't have evaporated or condensed milk on hand. This recipe is so fast & east & tasty! I only used 4 cups of broth because that's all I had on hand. But I found it to be a little watery & not quite as thick and creamy as I'd like but the taste was out of this world. I'm making it again this week but I might throw in a little flour to thicken it up a bit. Great cold weather meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegasus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
very east, very tasty......I got many compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States