Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Basically the same recipe I have used for over 35 years. Used more hamburger and 3 cans of kidney beans and shredded cheddar cheese. Always made with oil free Italian dressing and we put our own crunched up tortilla chips on, so they stayed crisp and didn't get soggy. Always used the bread making Tupperware bowl and it was heaped. Mixed it in a clean plastic liner bag. I was feeding 5 children plus 2 adults and never a crumb left! Easy way to crunch tortilla chips is puncture bag( to let the air out) then squeeze bag with your hands to break them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is very close to what I have been making for years. I mix a package of taco seasoning with the meat and cook it the way I would if I were making tacos. I add crushed doritoes last so they don't get soft. It's served warm and has been a hit in our family for years. I will try your recipe also;it sure sounds like 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We enjoyed this salad (but I used Catalina dressing and Fritos). Light and filling at the same time. I've made it with meat and without. It's great either way. You'd never think Catalina would go well with the different flavors but it goes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My 9 year old son rated this. He absolutely LOVED it and gave it 5 stars. I really liked it too. My husband doesn't lie thousand island dressing, so he only ate about half of his, while we went back for seconds. I added taco seasoning to the meat, halfed the amount of onion, kidney beans, dressing, and corn chips and we had more than enough. This recipe is very forgiving if you don't have enough of something or another or if you want to add your own special twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is an often requested dish in my family. I make it a little different. I don't put the beans in (never actually thought of that!), I mix a packet of Taco Seasoning with the Thousand Island Dressing in a bowl first then add it to the salad. I also use Nacho Cheese Doritos crushed up and added just before serving. My 21 year old nephew requests this every single time we have a family gathering. Another family friend asked me to make it for his wedding reception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was popular in the early 80's. We called it Mexican Chef Salad. Only difference was French or Catalina dressing. It's great for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Vejvoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
THIS IS A VERY DELICIOUS SALADI LOVE IT. BUT INSTEAD OF USING TACO SEASONING, YOU CAN ADD YOUR OWN INGREDIENTS TO MAKE IT TASTE EVEN BETTER.FOR EXAMPLE, AFTER THE MEAT IS BROWNED, I ADD 1 T. GARLIC POWDER, 1 TSP.GROUND CUMIN, 1 TSP. DRIED OREGANO, AND 2TSP. DRIED PARSLEY, PLUS 1 T CHILI POWDERED. MIX WELL WITH BROWNED MEAT, AND ADD 3/4 CUP, CHICKIN BROTH OR WATER, COOK, FOR ABOUT 2 T 4 MINS LOW HEAT, AND YOU SEE HOW MUCH BETTER THE TASTE. THESE HERBS CAN BE USED TO SEASON YOUR BEEF FOR TACOS, ETC; AISO PINTO BEANS NOT KIDNEY,KIDNEY BEANS SKIN IS THICKER& TUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Easy make ahead meal for a busy mom with lots of hungry mouths to feed. Appeals to all the kids with sides of avacado, salsa, olives and cilantro. Great way to get some veggies in the teenagers and cheap if you use tortilla chips instead of Fritos that are near $5 for 14oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Non better. DaveZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Good starting point. I made it lower in fat and calories by using ground turkey and used a batch and a half of Bill Echols taco seasoning. I garnished it with FF sour cream and served it with additional toppings. I used chili cheese Fritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States