Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a really delicious salad that I served as a side dish at a picnic. I did make several changes as follows: -Taco seasoning with the ground beef (following the directions on the seasoning package). -Romaine lettuce. -1 bunch (~6) green onions. -I diced about 1 1/2 cups (12 oz) of a block Cheddar and Monteray mixed cheese, and that was all of the cheese I used. -I mixed Ranch and Salsa together for the dressing. 2oz. Ranch and 6oz Salsa to make the 8 oz the recipe calls for, or to your own taste. -I used 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is great. I made a couple of changes, added taco seasoning mix to my meat and used ranch rather than Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have debated whether to rate this 4 or 5 stars. I rounded up from a 4.5. I did make a couple of changes. First of all, I sauteed the ground beef with the onion and a little taco seasoning. I then not only drained, but rinsed the beans (less gas producing this way). I added chopped green onions to the mixture and I really love it best with Catalina dressing and not 1000 Island. I play with the cheeses sometimes and use a Mexican blend. Very important to follow the directions and not add chips and dressing until right at time of serving. By the way, I just purchase the bags of shredded lettuce. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This recipe is really good and has been a favorite at many a cookout. The only modification I made was to season the ground beef with a package of taco seasoning. It really gives it a nice "taco" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is what we make with our left over taco meat...and it's delicious. I used French dressing and Mexican blend cheese. I also topped it off with chopped avacado and red onion. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Tasty salad, Sara. I cut cheeses to 2/3cup each and set out guacamole, sour cream and sliced black olives for garnishing the individual servings.For a slightly tangier version try dressing the salad with Caesar dressing to which you add 1/2 envelope of Taco Seasoning and 1T cumin. Yummy variation. Thanks for your version Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This recipie does not refridgerate well after the dressing is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Unless you want to feed an army, I strongly suggest cutting this recipe in half- all except the dressing. I can't imagine only using 8oz for this massive amount. However, it is very tasty- make sure your lettuce is dry before adding. I also cooked the onion with the meat & added some seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
A very good salad. I added taco seasoning to the hamburger as others suggested. I only had cheddar cheese, and that was fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I agree with the other reviewers - the meat needs a packet of taco seasoning. I usually don't eat Thousand Island dressing, but I thought I would try it in this recipe and I actually like it. I only used one can of beans and felt it was the perfect amount. I used I bunch of green onions (including tops) and a quarter of a red onion. I also added a couple of TBSP of chopped cilantro. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States