Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a really delicious salad that I served as a side dish at a picnic. I did make several changes as follows: -Taco seasoning with the ground beef (following the directions on the seasoning package). -Romaine lettuce. -1 bunch (~6) green onions. -I diced about 1 1/2 cups (12 oz) of a block Cheddar and Monteray mixed cheese, and that was all of the cheese I used. -I mixed Ranch and Salsa together for the dressing. 2oz. Ranch and 6oz Salsa to make the 8 oz the recipe calls for, or to your own taste. -I used 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is great. I made a couple of changes, added taco seasoning mix to my meat and used ranch rather than Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have debated whether to rate this 4 or 5 stars. I rounded up from a 4.5. I did make a couple of changes. First of all, I sauteed the ground beef with the onion and a little taco seasoning. I then not only drained, but rinsed the beans (less gas producing this way). I added chopped green onions to the mixture and I really love it best with Catalina dressing and not 1000 Island. I play with the cheeses sometimes and use a Mexican blend. Very important to follow the directions and not add chips and dressing until right at time of serving. By the way, I just purchase the bags of shredded lettuce. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This recipe is really good and has been a favorite at many a cookout. The only modification I made was to season the ground beef with a package of taco seasoning. It really gives it a nice "taco" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is what we make with our left over taco meat...and it's delicious. I used French dressing and Mexican blend cheese. I also topped it off with chopped avacado and red onion. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Tasty salad, Sara. I cut cheeses to 2/3cup each and set out guacamole, sour cream and sliced black olives for garnishing the individual servings.For a slightly tangier version try dressing the salad with Caesar dressing to which you add 1/2 envelope of Taco Seasoning and 1T cumin. Yummy variation. Thanks for your version Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This recipie does not refridgerate well after the dressing is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Unless you want to feed an army, I strongly suggest cutting this recipe in half- all except the dressing. I can't imagine only using 8oz for this massive amount. However, it is very tasty- make sure your lettuce is dry before adding. I also cooked the onion with the meat & added some seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
A very good salad. I added taco seasoning to the hamburger as others suggested. I only had cheddar cheese, and that was fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I agree with the other reviewers - the meat needs a packet of taco seasoning. I usually don't eat Thousand Island dressing, but I thought I would try it in this recipe and I actually like it. I only used one can of beans and felt it was the perfect amount. I used I bunch of green onions (including tops) and a quarter of a red onion. I also added a couple of TBSP of chopped cilantro. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States