Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Unless you want to feed an army, I strongly suggest cutting this recipe in half- all except the dressing. I can't imagine only using 8oz for this massive amount. However, it is very tasty- make sure your lettuce is dry before adding. I also cooked the onion with the meat & added some seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is great. I made a couple of changes, added taco seasoning mix to my meat and used ranch rather than Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is what we make with our left over taco meat...and it's delicious. I used French dressing and Mexican blend cheese. I also topped it off with chopped avacado and red onion. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Tasty salad, Sara. I cut cheeses to 2/3cup each and set out guacamole, sour cream and sliced black olives for garnishing the individual servings.For a slightly tangier version try dressing the salad with Caesar dressing to which you add 1/2 envelope of Taco Seasoning and 1T cumin. Yummy variation. Thanks for your version Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Made this recipe for Christmas lunch and it was a big hit. I substituted Catalina dressing and used shredded cheddar and monteray jack cheese. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
My whole family loved this recipe. I know it will be a big hit at the school potluck also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
So basically after reading the reviews and trying this myself, you MUST add seasoning to the meat and change the dressing - I use either plain yogurt or low/no fat sour cream. The wonderful smell drives my co-workers crazy when I bring in the left overs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a really delicious salad that I served as a side dish at a picnic. I did make several changes as follows: -Taco seasoning with the ground beef (following the directions on the seasoning package). -Romaine lettuce. -1 bunch (~6) green onions. -I diced about 1 1/2 cups (12 oz) of a block Cheddar and Monteray mixed cheese, and that was all of the cheese I used. -I mixed Ranch and Salsa together for the dressing. 2oz. Ranch and 6oz Salsa to make the 8 oz the recipe calls for, or to your own taste. -I used 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This recipe was a huge hit at our Memorial Day picnic. I did add a little fajita seasoning to the meat while I browned it, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Iused a bottle of ranch dressing mixed with 8oz of salsa for the dressing. I also added the lettuce right before serving which helped to prevent it from getting soggy & wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States