Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Unless you want to feed an army, I strongly suggest cutting this recipe in half- all except the dressing. I can't imagine only using 8oz for this massive amount. However, it is very tasty- make sure your lettuce is dry before adding. I also cooked the onion with the meat & added some seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is great. I made a couple of changes, added taco seasoning mix to my meat and used ranch rather than Thousand Island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is what we make with our left over taco meat...and it's delicious. I used French dressing and Mexican blend cheese. I also topped it off with chopped avacado and red onion. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Tasty salad, Sara. I cut cheeses to 2/3cup each and set out guacamole, sour cream and sliced black olives for garnishing the individual servings.For a slightly tangier version try dressing the salad with Caesar dressing to which you add 1/2 envelope of Taco Seasoning and 1T cumin. Yummy variation. Thanks for your version Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Made this recipe for Christmas lunch and it was a big hit. I substituted Catalina dressing and used shredded cheddar and monteray jack cheese. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
My whole family loved this recipe. I know it will be a big hit at the school potluck also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
So basically after reading the reviews and trying this myself, you MUST add seasoning to the meat and change the dressing - I use either plain yogurt or low/no fat sour cream. The wonderful smell drives my co-workers crazy when I bring in the left overs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a really delicious salad that I served as a side dish at a picnic. I did make several changes as follows: -Taco seasoning with the ground beef (following the directions on the seasoning package). -Romaine lettuce. -1 bunch (~6) green onions. -I diced about 1 1/2 cups (12 oz) of a block Cheddar and Monteray mixed cheese, and that was all of the cheese I used. -I mixed Ranch and Salsa together for the dressing. 2oz. Ranch and 6oz Salsa to make the 8 oz the recipe calls for, or to your own taste. -I used 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This recipe was a huge hit at our Memorial Day picnic. I did add a little fajita seasoning to the meat while I browned it, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Iused a bottle of ranch dressing mixed with 8oz of salsa for the dressing. I also added the lettuce right before serving which helped to prevent it from getting soggy & wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States