Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
A big winner!! I doubled the recipe for a family party and everyone loved it. I served it with Doritos and Fritos so people could choose whether or not to add the chips. Serve guacamole, salsa, etc. as toppings if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Simply...THE BEST!...so fast and easy to make...soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This recipe is very similar to an old family favorite. We season the meat with taco seasoning, and we put the cornchips on our plates then pile the salad on top. We also like to crush the corn chips in our hands before putting them on the plate and sometimes we serve the dressing on the side so that leftovers won't be soggy. We also prefer to make our own thousand island dressing by mixing mayonnaise with ketchup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I made this to enjoy while we watched the football game and we had 'win-win'. The Gophers won over Northwestern and this recipe won rave reviews! This is nicely suited to adjust ingredients to personal taste. Like another reviewer, I added taco seasoning to the meat, cut the kidney beans in half, used half of the chips and used shredded cheese. I used a gourmet favorite thousand island dressing and I think that was key to the success. I heard: "When can we have this again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I had this salad at a Labor Day picnic this year and it was GRRRRREAT! The one I had was made with Doritos, everyone was raving about it. I'm so happy to see the recipe because I want to try it at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I have been making this for a while, with the follwoing changes: no onion, add 1/2 c salsa while browning the meat, plus a little taco seasoning (1-2 t), a small can sliced black olives, and catalina dressing. Yes, it makes a lot. No, it doesn't keep. But this is one salad I prefer to toss with dressing and use or lose, it just tastes better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This recipe resembles a famliy favorite. Been in my family for about 25 yrs. We layer Frito's, beans, meat, cheese, lettuce, tomatoe, onion and more frito's and cheese, bake at 350 for 20 mins, till cheese is melted. And its great with Catalina dressing or salsa. Never tried Thousand Island. Just an idea for you all! This can be made in about 30mins total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I really like this salad. Sometimes I make it without meat. It's good with sliced hard boiled egg added too. The Thousand Island dressing is key to the flavor in my opinion. My only advice would be that this makes a LOT so if you don't think you can eat it all immediately, don't add the corn chips to the whole bowl, they get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Everyone in my family loves this recipe! I've made it with various substitutions, such as Doritos for the corn chips and Country French (Marzettis brand) for the Thousand Island dressing. Also, as other reviewers suggested, spicing the meat up a little with cumin, chili powder, or just some taco seasoning adds a little punch to the finished product. All in all, a fantastic salad. Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
We made this and it was great. We did do two things differently though. We seasoned the meat with Taco seasoning and just served the salad dressing on the side. That way everyone could put in as much as they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States