Corn Chip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a really good cold salad for a hot summer day. The only thing I did different was to add some adobo seasoning to the meat and mixed the meat, onions, beans, cheese, and dressing and served over the chips and lettuce. I knew we were going to have leftovers and I did not want the chips and lettuce to get soggy. Worked like a charm and had the leftovers for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I really love this recipe. My Mom has been making this salad for the past 30yrs. The differences are: she adds taco seasoning to the meat, omit's the tomatoes and dressing and adds a picante salsa to it. A real hit with the kids because of the chips. Same concept as a one pan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was pretty good, but needed some salsa. I didn't care for the thousand island dressing (and I love 1000 ISL) but it just didn't go very well by itself. I added some salsa and it made all the difference in the world! The meat was bland on it's own and I really think adding green pepper and a bit or garlic in with the meat would help trememdously. I cooked the onion with the meat. I love the idea and this made a huge amount so it's great for a party and can be made up a little ahead. The lettuce got a little soggy and limp though after a couple of hours. That was without the dressing and I had drained the beans really well. Great idea, needs a little work, but a good base. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is very good. It reminds me of the one that my grandmother used to make for church gathering. I have to admit that hers is a little better but it may be the grandmotherly touch that has this recipe beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was pretty good. I used black beans and different dressing, I also used 97% lean ground beef. I used a bagged salad to make this easier. Added a can of sliced olives and some chopped yellow peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
not good cold or with thousand island dressing- made it again warm with sour cream and salsa mixed with cold salad on top- kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I have to admit that I prefer my usual Taco Salad recipe, I found the Thousand Island dressing bland, and the salad didn't have enough of a spicy punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I had some leftover refried beans and used ranch as I had run out of thousand island dressing. Tasted great as well. Wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This was an easy, delicious summer salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have debated whether to rate this 4 or 5 stars. I rounded up from a 4.5. I did make a couple of changes. First of all, I sauteed the ground beef with the onion and a little taco seasoning. I then not only drained, but rinsed the beans (less gas producing this way). I added chopped green onions to the mixture and I really love it best with Catalina dressing and not 1000 Island. I play with the cheeses sometimes and use a Mexican blend. Very important to follow the directions and not add chips and dressing until right at time of serving. By the way, I just purchase the bags of shredded lettuce. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States