Corn Chip Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made some changes which gave it a more authentic flavor. Substituted ground beef, made 1 cup of my own red chili sauce and added a can of ranch style pinto beans. It was awesome! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Reminds me of my Friday night football games in Louisiana back in the 80's. Frito pie.... I make my own chili and use plain Fritos. Top with cheese. My son's friends are visiting us in GA. They are from WV and requested that "thing" I used to make them with the chili and Fritos. The infamous "Frito Pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was dinner tonight, made with my own homemade chili from the night before. I used Chili Cheese Fritos. Everyone loved it. HUGE hit. I was told by my family that this is the only way to eat chili now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Very easy and delicious ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is much like the Famous Frito Pie, I prefer my recipe. We like Wolf Brand Chilli, and I like it with no beans, Use two cans to a large bag of Frito's, add as much cheese as you like on top, and bake in the oven to get the cheese melted. You will have two textures softer fritos and crunchy...add whatever you like, sour cream, onions, different cheeses, tomatoes, even green chilli.......just great! An old time fav that I introduced to my husband who had never had it. My whole family loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I went by the recipe but added 3 minced jalapenos, !/2 lb hamburger, 3 cloves of garlic minced and 1/3t cumin I cooked all of the add ons togeather then added chile beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
One of my favortie comfort foods. I also like to make it with tortilla chips. It is even yummier with a little kick of Lousiana hot sauce. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
A good ol' texas fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I would much rather use chili made with beef, or my own recipe. This recipe really brings back memories of yummy Frito Pie - back in the 70's you could get a great one at Sonic Drive In's in the South.. but no longer, they are horrible. You can also pop openan individual bag of corn chips, dump some chili right in the bag and put your toppings on for a "Walking Taco". They are a big hit at kids birthday parties. LOL I always made Frito Pie on Halloween Night - quick, easy and got the kids out the door FAST! Thanks for the memories. Now I'm getting hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This is the famous Frito Pie! If you live in Texas, and have the guts to ADMIT that you don't know what Frito Pie is, people are amazed! It is a well-loved tradition, often served with rice and beans instead of chili, as well as grated cheese and chopped onion, and OFTEN served inside a single-serving bag of Fritos! DEEEEE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States