Corn Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is basically the same terrific recipe my mom made, with two differences. 1) Instead of sour cream, my mom's recipe called for an 8 oz container of onion dip. We loved the sour cream & onion flavor it gave the corn. 2) No cheese topping, although I can see how that might be good. With all the onion dip action going on in my version, though, I think I'll skip it. I think this is supposed to have a soft, spoon bread texture, but we preferred a firmer texture, so we always baked it for an hour, or even a bit more. Delicious in any version, but try the onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have been making this recipe for over 5yrs--I have doubled the recipe because it is so popular and I wanted to have some left overs. I use fat free or low fat sour cream. I do not use an egg--I just mix everything together and place in greased or pam sprayed large casserole dish--350 for 45 min and then add shredded cheddar cheese sprinkle on the top & cook 15min more-- it should be moist inside--not too dry---this recipe can be part of a Mexican meal--so substitute cheddar cheese with pepper jack shredded cheese--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Everywhere I take this people want the recipe. I don't use cheese though. Instead I mix corn flakes with a little melted butter and sprinkle on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Claessen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This recipe was very yummy, and the family loved it. It was close to the best I've had, but not quite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made this for the homeless shelter - they loved it and wanted seconds. I quadrupled the recipe and it was enough for 35 people. I made only very minor changes. I sauteed a little minced onion (1/4 cup for the quadrupled recipe) in the butter while it was melting, and added a little black pepper. This recipe works great for a crowd, but you do need to increase the baking time to about an hour and fifteen minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Well, I haven't taken it out of the oven yet...I have made several similar recipes from this site--All good! I didn't have cream corn, so I added half and half to the mixture. I also added real bacon bits, and 1/2 envelope of vegetable soup mix that I had in the cupboard. I used 1 can sweet corn and about 15 oz of frozen corn. I added cheese and sour cream, probably about about 1/2 cup so I used 2 eggs as the recipe stated, along with the corn muffin mix. I added some kosher salt, a dash of sugar and a few sprinkles of black pepper. I plan to put more cheese on top and bake until ready! My baking pan was 9 x 11.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yum! First thing gone at Thanksgiving. Cut the butter back by half...still rich and sinful tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
try using a can of mexican to add a little flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I thought this was very good - made as instructed. My daughter asked me to find the recipe of a corn casserole she had at her friends over the holiday. She did not care for it but I thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States