Corn Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I changed the recipe for the kids and it turned out that everyone really loved it. I left out the cheese, I added a pinch of kosher salt, 1 tablespoon of sugar and added extra butter about 1/4 cup, I really didn't measure, I baked it in a buttered 9x13 cake pan for 40 to 45 minutes, I needed the oven for the rest of the dinner so I took it out about 2 hours, maybe even longer, before we ate and just set it on the counter the warm temperature was perfect so I love the fact that I was able to use the oven for other dishes and it also free up my time since I was busy preparing a large meal. It was a winner and since I try so many new recipes the family asked me to keep this one as a regular, it pleased every palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I love this side dish, it's cheap, easy and reheats beautifully. I don't use canned niblet corn, I just fill the empty creamed corn can with frozen corn and use that instead. I'd consider the addition of some scallions to the mix to add color. And I swear by Jiffy corn bread mix for this recipe. I don't use the egg called for in this recipe. A suggestion to make life easier: I've found this casserole to be a great make ahead option to be microwaved before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I haven't made this yet, but can't understand how 4 servings come out of an 8 x 12 pan. Can someone help me with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This corn cassrole reminded me of scalloped corn my grandmother made when I was younger! It was wonderful! I almost couldn't get enough during dinner and my husband ate all of the leftovers the next day! It was 'jiggly' in the middle when I took it out of the oven, which made me wonder what I did wrong, but after about 10 minutes it sat up and turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This is a really good recipe, this is the 2nd time I've made this recipe, I had never had corn casserole until one night I said I was tired of having just "plain old" vegetables, so I searched and found this, quick and easy. Unfortunately today, I forgot to add the cheese I just reminded myself. I was wondering if 350 is the right temperature because both times I have made this and it doesn't seem to be done in 30min, maybe it is because I'm not using a square dish? Also, do I need to drain the niblet corn? I did just in case. Well thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This is the first dish to disappear at the Thanksgiving and Christmas table. A family favorite we make every holiday - the kids will eat this up! I use sharp cheddar, light sour cream, & only 1 stick of butter instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
YUMMO "ND"!!!! Didn't have any cheese in the house and I only used one stick of butter. Trust me, no need to add the extra calories and fat because this was absolutely fabulous!! Also used lite sour cream. I can't tell you how much my family loved this; even my daughter who doesn't really care for corn bread, muffins, creamed corn etc. She had two helpings and put some hot sauce on top to offset the slight sweetness of the dish. Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I have been making the recipe for a few years now. My husband's family loves it and always requests that I bring it to family dinners. Pretty much the only thing I change is that I add a couple of tablespoons of sugar. I also drain the whole kernel corn. Very yummy when right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was the first time I've had corn casserole and I thought it was very good. I added a dash of salt and a tablespoon of sugar and mixed a third cup of the cheese into the corn mixture and topped the casserole with the remaining two thirds cup. I served it with Salsa Chicken (from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Yummy! Great for family reunions or get togethers. Easy to make and tastes great. Everyone will love this dish. NOTE: you need a 9x13 dish and you'll need to cook for 30-45 minutes. Also, make sure you drain your corn. This should help everyone who is having trouble getting theirs done in the center. Using 8x12 takes over an hour and the top gets too brown but the inside is still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States