Corn Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I would consider this a dip rather than a casserole because it was a bit soupy. I served it with tortilla chips. This dish had quite a bit of heat to it with the jalepenos (and I used less than recommended!) I backed off on the butter per other reviews and it still was a bit much. The butter wasn't absorbed and stayed on top making the dish look a bit greasy. I did melt some cheddar cheese on top to give it more of a solid look. I served this dish at a potluck and people generally liked it, but I did end up with left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I chose this recipe due to its simplicity, but will choose it again due to its taste. I served this at a recent dinner party and boy was it a hit. I was asked to bring this dish again to future gatherings. I used reduced fat cream cheese to cut back on the fat and no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love this dish, but I love hot food. My family on the other hand, does not, so to tone it down a bit, I use half the jal peppers and half diced bell peppers. Use red bell peppers if you want to make it real pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good flavor, if you like it HOT. For a milder taste, use green bell pepper instead of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used chopped green chili peppers instead of jalapenos and hominy instead of white corn. It turned out really good. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I served this at an office Thanksgiving party, and it was a huge hit. Also, served it for my family at Thanksgiving, and there were no leftovers -- will become a family tradition. However, I'm a big spice fan, and even I reduced the jalapenos by 1/2. Still was very spicey. Also reduced the butter by 1/2 because it was swimming in butter the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I usually only use 1/2 a jar of jalopenos because this dish might be too spicy/hot for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very Good !!! I could not bring myself to use an entire cup of butter though. I only used half a stick and also added a little grated cheddar and was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I used veggie creamcheese, peppercinis and the last 10 minutes I put crushed croutons on top- very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I liked this recipe although no one else in my family did. My six year old son thought it was too cheesy, and my 11 year daughter just made a face after tasting it and wouldn't eat it. My husband ate it, but it didn't WOW him. I did make some substitutions. I was afraid of the peppers since every one else mentioned how hot it was so I used green chilis instead, because they are milder. I also added salt and pepper. It was good. It was even good the next day with cooked onions, garlic, and steak added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States