Corn Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I only used 1 can of cream-style corn and for a little ease, used Jiffy cornbread mix, which gave this some sweetness. You can also consider adding jalapenos for an additional kick. This turned out great...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Updated 11/25/04: Baked it in a 9x13 pan for 1 hour 45 minutes - knife still didn't come out clean, but after it sat for a bit the consistency was perfect. This is excellent and seemed to be the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used 2 can of corn and one creamy corn, made it a little crunhier. i added some more salt and pepper in the mixture. i say add more spice in the mix because the corn does taste kind of bland. i used only 1/2 box of the corn muffin mix which made it perfect! last year i used 1 box and it turn out to be corn bread instead of casserole =P i used 3 eggs instead of 2 and less butter. i took someone advice and added some mayo, not sure how much it affected the recipe but it was very moist! i guess if you add a little more sour cream it'll do the trick too = ) i didn't add any onions or chillies but next time i'll probably add some mix veggies (frozen package) to give it some more color... when it's almost done in the oven i added more cheese on top to make it a little crispy and cheesy because when you add the cheese in the begining it just sinks in w/ the mixture. more the cheese the better!!! i'll def. make it next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I absolutely love this dish! Even my pickiest friends enjoyed it. I used hot diced chiles instead of the mild, and also have tried it with half cheddar and half pepper jack cheeses. I think leaving it in the oven an extra 10-15 minutes makes the casserole texture more firm, not too mushy. If you prefer a drier casserole, I recommend baking it in a wider dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made this to go with the slow cooker taco soup! I didn't have enough sour cream so I used 8 oz. cream cheese instead and it was fantastic. I also sauteed the onions with that butter and my guests loved it! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was really good and my family liked it. I cooked it longer than the recipe said to get the golden brown top. I made the mistake of eating it straight out of the oven. I would wait 15-20 minutes before serving to let it build up its texture because it will taste much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This casserole was very good, but we all agreed the chilies got to be too much. Next time I will make it without the chilies for a sweeter corn casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I prepared this recipe for a celabratory dinner for my mom's 77th birthday. Even my picky, don't-care-for-vegetable siblings asked for seconds! The only variant to the original is that I added a few light sprinkles of cayenne pepper before spooning into the casserole. It was just the right amount of zip for my spice-loving family! This recipe has already been given the family's approval to add to our traditional Thanksgiving menu. Bravo, Polly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Frickin awesome and pretty easy. I used fresh peppers instead of canned and egg beaters and fat free sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The easiest Corn Casserole to make. It's a new favorite in the house. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Chinchar
Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States