Corn-Bacon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very tasty, but needed to add more milk. I also added some scallops and half stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
AMAZING!! I did 2 cups of heavy cream instead of milk it was wonderful!! I would definetly make this again . Thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I halved the recipe and had to use cream of onion instead of potato because it is what I had. I did not use curry powder (not a fan) but the soup did need some seasoning. I added a chopped jalapeno. DH said it needed some cilantro. It was a tasty soup and I will most likely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I used vegetarian bacon (with olive oil instead of grease) and it turned out fantastic. I also got these teeny little potatoes at Trader Joe's that I threw in whole without having to slice or peel and it tasted good and was easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I thought this was delicious! The recipe makes a lot of chowder, which is good if you are feeding a lot of people. I would suggest increasing the amount of curry powder (1/4 tsp for so much really doesn't add enough curry taste in my opinion). But I thought it was great- good taste, thick (not runny), easy, and cheap! It has a lot of sodium, so be sure to drink a lot of water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Wonderful dish. My whole family enjoyed it and it is great to make and take to someone's home. I fix it for my father and he can eat it with a sandwich for a yummy lunch. I cook the recipe completely as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cross City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe is great just as given. I don't understand why people alter the recipe and then offer sub-standard ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe. Have already made this 3 times in this past month. I did cut out one of the Can of patato creme as two seemed a little strong. Exchanged it out with a creme of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I think it is a good base. I made lots of additions/revisions, plus I halved the recipe... so take that into consideration for amounts used. First, I used yellow potatoes. These have a nice flavor for soups. I chopped the bacon before browning... this makes browning easier. Then, I wanted this to be spicy and flavorful... probably too spicy for most, but I added to the bacon while near the end of browning: 1/2 white onion (diced), 2 garlic cloves (minced), 2 Serrano peppers (seeded & diced), and 2 jalapeno peppers (seeded & diced). I sautéed these with the bacon until all was tender and the bacon browned. I doubled the cream of potato soup rather than also adding cream of mushroom. I doubled the amount of corn and used Mexican corn instead of plain, and added 1/4 c of heavy cream in addition to 2% milk. I also added coriander, cumin, and oregano to the mixture and eliminated the curry powder. This was truly amazing... one of the best dishes I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
My husband and 14 year old son finished all of this in one sitting (I had a small bowl) and this makes a lot of chowder. I would substitute another cream of potato for one of the cream of mushrooms, it tasted a little too mushroom-soupy to me but I love the taste of potato so it might just be me. My family didn't seem to mind. I would also cut back on the potatoes. I didn't use all of mine, it would have been too bulky. My husband thought there was too much corn but I didn't. Great, quick chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States