Coriander, Barley, Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Super easy recipe. I used sausage instead of ground turkey and it came out rich and delicious. I didn't have the rice wine and I don't think the dish missed it. This is just a basic arrangement of classic flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette Banda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Substituted good sake for the Chinese rice wine, and used 1 c sake and 1/2 c rice wine vinegar, and ground pork instead of ground turkey. OMG it is SO GOOD. Housemate loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
it wasn't too bad......way too much rice wine vinegar. I put a fourth of the suggested amount and still tasted way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn Harvie
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yuck. I'm sad that I used so many ingredients. I could only eat a half a bowl. I think it could've been a good soup if the rice wine had been left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
For such simple ingredients, this was very flavorful. I omitted the turkey and used veg broth, and I halved the broth, rice wine (I used sake), and coriander. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used Japanese rice wine instead of Chinese. I'm sure it makes for a different flavor but we did like the soup. I was worried with all the leek and onion that it would be too strong but surprisingly it wasn't. My husband said the coriander was strong and I thought the sake was strong. We might make this one again, it was fun trying something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was delicious, all I changed (only b/c of lack of ingredients) was that I added 3 hot Italian Sausages because I only had 10 oz of Turkey and I added 2 1/4 C + 1/4 white vinegar as I didn't have any Chinese Rice Wine. My 4 year old thought it was delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I am giving this delicious soup 5 stars even though I changed it somewhat. Used chicken stock instead of beef as I don't use beef. Did not have enough barley so used half barley and half brown rice, which worked just fine. I used 1 T. of coriander and 1/2 cup of rice wine vinegar, thinking I could add more of each if needed but was so good I stopped at that amount. Great soup, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States