Cordon Bleu Chicken Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Updated review: I made this recipe again tonight. This time I used a combination of crushed corn flakes and italian bread crumbs. I again used munster cheese instead of swiss. I decided to try the gravy and it was good, but I don't think it's necessary as the chicken tastes great alone. Original review: My husband says this is the best new recipe that I've ever made, and he's hard to please. I did things slightly different for personal preferences. First of all, I used Italian bread crumbs instead of Corn Flake crumbs because that's all I had in the house. I used munster cheese instead of swiss becuase neither of us like Swiss. And I didn't make the gravy, because my husband isn't a gravy person. These were so simple to make, took little time and turned out wonderfully. The first time I made this it came out too dry, so I adjusted my cooking temperature the next time to 350, for 30 minutes, and it worked fine. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Really great!... liked the creamy sauce. Used mozzarella cheese instead of swiss. The cheese will run out if you don't tack up the sides of the chicken breast. One thing that helps is if you fold the ham around the cheese, and then wrap the ham/cheese square in the chicken. Less cheese oozes out! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Delicious! I used bread crumbs to coat the chicken and then sauteed in a pan with a little butter and olive oil. Once browned, I made the sauce, adding my usual seasonings and some white wine. I then poured the sauce over the chicken to heat through. Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Every time I make this my family loves it. I melt the butter in the 13x9 pan in the micro and then roll the chicken in it and then roll it in bread crumbs and return it to the pan. Very easy. I use whatever kind of cheese I have on hand in the fridge. Be sure to put a little water in the bottom of the pan so they don't stick. Also, the sauce it the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe. I dipped the chicken breasts in a beaten egg, then rolled in seasoned bread crumbs and drizzled melted butter over them. We didn't like the sauce at all and felt the chicken was delicious without it. I also made two of the rolls with Swiss cheese and two with Provolone, and my husband and I liked the Provolone better (our son preferred the Swiss). I'll be making this recipe this weekend when my daughter's fiance and his parents come for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This was fabulous, especially the sauce, we loved it.. I asked my Husband if I should make it again? He said definetly. have about 3 times since. It is something I have to make now regularly. I served this with Chicken Flavored rice. It was great... not to difficult either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Thanks for this recipe! It gives a twist to chicken hardly any effort. I've made it twice now. Neither time did I bread it or make the sauce, actually. After rolling the chicken up, I sprinkled paprika on the top, surrounded it with wedges of butter, and let it bake. The second time I made it, I was running low on time, so I pan seered some seasoning into the chicken first, and then rolled it all up and let bake for 25 minutes. The nice thing about not breading the chicken is that I didn't need toothpicks, so no worries of the little sticks breaking in the food. When first seering the chicken, it made for less flexible meat to roll-up, but it worked anyway and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good. Took a little longer to cook than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I did not care for the cornflake coating and the inside was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paz
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe is easy and it tastes great. I tried it for new years and it came out delicious. The sauce was incredible too. I will definitely recommend this to my friends and will probably cook more often than just special occasions. Thanks for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paz

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States