Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Waaaay too much egg. I was able to salvage the recipe, sort of, by adding more fluids to balance out the egg a little, adding some egg whites to balance out the absurd yolk flavor and texture that was overpowering, and then after I was finished, adding in yet more just straight milk. It had developed a light meringue, it was so eggy. Also it wasn't sweet enough originally; added a can of cream of conconut when I was adding fluids. I would try starting with two whole eggs next time, one cup of cream of cononut to replace one can of coconutmilk, and start there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Like another reviewer, I followed the recipe, but it turned out "grainy." I used this recipe because I mistakenly bought coconut milk instead of coconut cream. I had added a can of condensed milk instead of the sugar, but I don't think that was what made it grainy. It seems like it is some of the solids from the coconut milk perhaps? Maybe I didn't use the right kind of strainer? Regardless, I wasn't pleased with the recipe unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valery Lucien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wonderful New Years eggnog for those with dairy allergies / lactose intolerance or a desire not to have such a HEAVY feeling to their eggnog. We made this recipe for 6 and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
i tried this recipe. its not bad, but not great. being from miami i am use to authentic spanish cuisine and what not, but i have always seen my in-laws make this with cinnamon sticks... perhaps that is the difference or why it is not an outstanding recipe. the cinnamon sticks are suppose to kinda marinate and infuse into the coquito, then be strained out after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really good recipe. I use this recipe when I have the time, but I have since found a pre-mixed Coquito called Mi Abuela that is extremely close to homemade. I bought it at Big 3 Wine & Liquor in the Bronx on E. Tremont Ave. If you don't have time to make your own, or want a back up, definitely check it out. I know this may not be useful info to members of a site like "all recipes", but just wanted to share it just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I've made "Coquito" before, and I recommend for the readers to use a can coconut cream instead of the coconut milk- as the cream is much sweeter.You could also use 6 egg yolks instead, and one quart of half and half.These three basic ingredients- excluding the rum, and nutmeg/cinnamon- is all you really need.Serve over ice.(Double-up recipe if making for a large group.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Pretty good for eggnog but a little tricky to make. "Scald" really isn't helpful; the key is to get the milk to JUST the right point, meaning heated up enough so that when you add the 1/2 cup to the eggs, it heats up the temperature of the eggs (so that they will not be shocked and thus cooked when you add them to the pot). I sprikle the top w/cinnamon after I pour it into my punchbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
make sure you use coconut milk, because if you use shredded coconut, like the review above, it will come out grainy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This coquito was good but not as sweet as I would have liked. My extended family makes it and it wasn't the same. It may have been the kind of coconut milk I used. I would try it again with a different brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is a very good drink, made it last year and looking forward to it this holiday. It takes time and cost can add up depending upon how much you make. I made it for gifts last year and it was a hit. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Cuba Libre Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender whip up this classic rum-based cocktail.

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States