Coquilles St. Jacques Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
this was easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My husband said this was the best Coquilles St. Jacques that he has ever had at home or in a fine restaurant. It is also the best I have ever made or eaten anywhere. Very rich and smooth with the wonderful nutiness of gruyere cheese. I plan to make this for dinner the next time I have good friends coming. Didn't rate it high for kids because of the onions and mushrooms. Kids don't know what's good. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
OUTSTANDING!!! And I don't even like seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The mayo taste can be overpowering. I substitute half the mayonnaise with a heavy cream or cream cheese and it is delicious. We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These were very good. I have a hard time finding recipes both my husband and I like, but we both really enjoyed this one. I couldn't find the cheese that was called for so I used baby swiss - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
My husband said it was "restaurant yummy." A great blend of cheese and seafood. It was easy and quick to make and is now a "family favorite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Okay, I've got this down now, I've made it a several times since my first review. Here are my changes...1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup light sour cream. I use Emmentaler swiss cheese melts very well and is cheaper than Gruyere. If I can't find button mushrooms I use regular sliced mushrooms. I add a little flour and water (before adding the scallops) to the sauce so it's not too runny. And very important...the bread crumbs. I use plain Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs...so much better than the fine bread crumbs and I squeeze a little lemon juice into the melted butter and Panko crumbs. Let the casserole stand for a few minutes after removing from the oven to allow the sauce to thicken. Better than any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was an awesome dish!! I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms, because my uncle is allergic and I used bay scallops instead of the sea scallops. It was perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was EXCELLENT! I never new making Coquilles St. Jacques was so easy! I did scale it down a bit and used 1/2 pound of scallops and just used water instead of opening up a bottle of wine for such a little bit. I will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thanks Doreen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This was wonderful. Much simpler than other recipes I have for the dish. I added some Old Bay seasoning to the scallops and a little in the sauce. Also used half wine and half sherry. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coquilles Saint-Jacques

See how to make a classic scallop dish with a rich, rich sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States