Coquilles St. Jacques Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
this was easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My husband said this was the best Coquilles St. Jacques that he has ever had at home or in a fine restaurant. It is also the best I have ever made or eaten anywhere. Very rich and smooth with the wonderful nutiness of gruyere cheese. I plan to make this for dinner the next time I have good friends coming. Didn't rate it high for kids because of the onions and mushrooms. Kids don't know what's good. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
My husband said it was "restaurant yummy." A great blend of cheese and seafood. It was easy and quick to make and is now a "family favorite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These were very good. I have a hard time finding recipes both my husband and I like, but we both really enjoyed this one. I couldn't find the cheese that was called for so I used baby swiss - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
OUTSTANDING!!! And I don't even like seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I found the mayonnaise taste overwhelmed everything else in this recipe. Not something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was an awesome dish!! I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms, because my uncle is allergic and I used bay scallops instead of the sea scallops. It was perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The mayo taste can be overpowering. I substitute half the mayonnaise with a heavy cream or cream cheese and it is delicious. We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was EXCELLENT! I never new making Coquilles St. Jacques was so easy! I did scale it down a bit and used 1/2 pound of scallops and just used water instead of opening up a bottle of wine for such a little bit. I will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thanks Doreen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Okay, I've got this down now, I've made it a several times since my first review. Here are my changes...1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup light sour cream. I use Emmentaler swiss cheese melts very well and is cheaper than Gruyere. If I can't find button mushrooms I use regular sliced mushrooms. I add a little flour and water (before adding the scallops) to the sauce so it's not too runny. And very important...the bread crumbs. I use plain Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs...so much better than the fine bread crumbs and I squeeze a little lemon juice into the melted butter and Panko crumbs. Let the casserole stand for a few minutes after removing from the oven to allow the sauce to thicken. Better than any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coquilles Saint-Jacques

See how to make a classic scallop dish with a rich, rich sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Chef John's Scallop Gratin

Scallops baked in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States