Coquilles St. Jacques Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This was wonderful. Much simpler than other recipes I have for the dish. I added some Old Bay seasoning to the scallops and a little in the sauce. Also used half wine and half sherry. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Too rich. I only could eat a couple bites. My boyfriend ate all of his though. I will modify next time using less mayonnaise and cheese and adding cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Okay, I've got this down now, I've made it a several times since my first review. Here are my changes...1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup light sour cream. I use Emmentaler swiss cheese melts very well and is cheaper than Gruyere. If I can't find button mushrooms I use regular sliced mushrooms. I add a little flour and water (before adding the scallops) to the sauce so it's not too runny. And very important...the bread crumbs. I use plain Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs...so much better than the fine bread crumbs and I squeeze a little lemon juice into the melted butter and Panko crumbs. Let the casserole stand for a few minutes after removing from the oven to allow the sauce to thicken. Better than any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was EXCELLENT! I never new making Coquilles St. Jacques was so easy! I did scale it down a bit and used 1/2 pound of scallops and just used water instead of opening up a bottle of wine for such a little bit. I will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thanks Doreen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The mayo taste can be overpowering. I substitute half the mayonnaise with a heavy cream or cream cheese and it is delicious. We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was an awesome dish!! I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms, because my uncle is allergic and I used bay scallops instead of the sea scallops. It was perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I found the mayonnaise taste overwhelmed everything else in this recipe. Not something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
OUTSTANDING!!! And I don't even like seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These were very good. I have a hard time finding recipes both my husband and I like, but we both really enjoyed this one. I couldn't find the cheese that was called for so I used baby swiss - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
My husband said it was "restaurant yummy." A great blend of cheese and seafood. It was easy and quick to make and is now a "family favorite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Coquilles Saint-Jacques

See how to make a classic scallop dish with a rich, rich sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States