Coquilles St. Jacques Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I left out the button mushrooms, but only as a personal preference. Note: this dish is REALLY rich, so you might want to take it easy on the amount of cream and cheese that is put in there. Nonetheless, it is delicious. For fancy presentation, try scooping out portions into large scallop shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
My husband LOVED this,,,he thought it was restaurant material! Some changes I made though. I used 6 jumbo scallops (the bigger ones I halved) because I was afraid the smaller ones would overcook and get to rubbery. I seared them, then I used a splash of apple juice in place of wine, 1 tblspn of mayo ONLY, marble cheese (that is all I had) and some parmesean. Once that all blended together, turn off the heat, add the scallops and a splash of cream....maybe 2-3 tblspns. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I think sour cream would work better than the mayo to cut down on the richness of the sauce. Will try again using about 3/4 cup sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Took other reviewers' advice and used mostly thick cream with just a spoon or so of mayo to make up the quantity. Apart from that, followed recipe exactly and it was fabulously good. The other half practically burst into song and said it was the best Coquilles St Jacques he'd ever had. What we both loved about it was that the balance of the wine in the sauce was perfect - sometimes restaurants use so much it's overpowering. Will definitely make again. And again. And again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I made this one night when I wanted to try something new. I found the overall taste to be good, but a little gummy. My husband, who is a very good eater and not fussy at all, did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was a waste of good scallops and doesn't deserve to bear its name. The sauce should be much more subtle even though I substituted half the mayo with heavy cream. It should be creamy white not cheesy/mayo. I definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a very rich dish. After spending so much money on the scallops though, I was a bit disappointed that the scallops took a backseat to the sauce. The sauce was wonderful; perhaps too much so! If I ever make this again, I'll use the bay scallops. This recipe comes together very quickly too. Thanks for the post Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
WOW!!! This was amazing -- my husband and I could hardly believe we were eating it at home, much less that I had made it!! I didn't have the mayonnaise that was called for so I used half M*racle Whip and half ricotta cheese instead. I also substituted white cooking wine (couldn't open a whole bottle for a quarter cup) and dried parsley and it was still amazing -- very rich and very cheesey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Absolutely scrumptious!!!! I prepared this last night for my husband's birthday. This dish is wonderful - so rich, so gourmet. Not your everyday dinner; save this one for special occasions. I'll go a touch lighter on the bread crumbs next time, but other than that, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I love it. Very easy to make yet still impressive. Have made it with both gruyere and swiss cheese. Both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coquilles Saint-Jacques

See how to make a classic scallop dish with a rich, rich sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States